Ivan, Arkansas
12 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1953 and the latest in 1989. It stands in Southall Township. It lies in ZIP code area 71742. It stands on Guice Creek. The Survey maps it on the Ivan quadrangle. 135 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 210 feet above sea level.
Topographic sheets covering this place
7 surveys from 12 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1953 USGS El Dorado quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1957 USGS El Dorado quadrangle1:250000
- 1958 USGS El Dorado quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1960 USGS El Dorado quadrangle1:250000
- 1969 USGS Ivan quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1986 USGS Camden quadrangle1:100000
- 1989 USGS El Dorado quadrangle1:250000
Fires near this place
45 since 1998Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 45 fires within 5 miles of Ivan between 1998 and 2018, burning about 442 acres in total. 8 started naturally. 11 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 12 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 11 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 |
| Natural | 8 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 4 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 September 1998 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 3 September 2006 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 29 September 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | 4.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 26 September 2011 | Natural | 10 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 21 September 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 16 September 2013 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 13 September 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 7 August 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
10 of 14 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 14 workings within 5 miles of Ivan: 9 unknowns, 5 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Gemstone, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unk | Gemstone | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Clay | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown |
Storms near this place
11 since 1998Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Ivan in 11 storm reports between 1998 and 2025: 6 hail, 3 thunderstorm wind, 1 tornado, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2007 | Flash Flood | Ivan | $2,000 | Arkansas State Police Troop F reported the northbound lane on U.S. Highway 167 was closed to repair a large pothole caused by flooding. |
| April 2025 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ivan | - | Several trees were blown down across Dallas County Road 107. |
| March 2014 | Hail | Ivan | - | A large amount of hail, some larger than the size of hen eggs, fell between Ivan and Fordyce. The hail broke windshields and damaged roofs. |
| April 2004 | Tornado (F0) | Ivan | - | A weak tornado touched down about 4.1 miles southwest of the town of Ivan on Dallas County. The tornado was on the ground for approximately 4.2 miles before lifting 3 miles northwest of Ivan. A pole barn was destroyed, a trampoline and swing set at a residence were also blown around. A number of large tree limbs were also knocked down. |
| May 2004 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ivan | - | A few trees were down along Highway 167 at Ivan. |
| May 2001 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ivan | - | Thunderstorm winds downed some large trees. |
| June 2012 | Hail | Ivan | - | no account filed |
| June 2011 | Hail | Ivan | - | no account filed |
| June 2007 | Hail | Ivan | - | no account filed |
| May 1999 | Hail | Ivan | - | no account filed |
| July 1998 | Hail | Ivan | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bucksnort | 5.3 miles | 12 | |
| North Fordyce | 6.0 miles | 12 | |
| Fordyce | 6.8 miles | 12 | |
| Beech Grove | 6.9 miles | 12 | |
| Bunn | 7.2 miles | 9 | |
| Ramsey | 7.3 miles | 16 | |
| Forrest Bonner | 8.1 miles | 16 | |
| Eagletie | 9.9 miles | 16 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Ivan | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q14680957 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 57973. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.






