BlockBefore

Jamestown, Arkansas

20 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1888 and the latest in 1993. It stands in Spadra 2 Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72830. It stands on Spadra Creek. The Survey maps it on the Clarksville quadrangle.

Jamestown within Johnson County

Topographic sheets covering this place

10 surveys from 20 printed sheets

Matched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.

In the county-history sources

962 words on this township

Johnson County, Arkansas, the First Hundred Years, published 1921 has no passage naming this settlement, which was common for smaller places. Its township is covered in full.

The chapter on Spadra 2 Township covers the township.

Read the chapter on Spadra 2 Township - 962 words.

Fires near this place

60 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 60 fires within 5 miles of Jamestown between 1998 and 2020, burning about 372 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 6 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined24
Debris and open burning18
Equipment and vehicle use8
Arson/incendiarism6
Recreation and ceremony2
Natural1
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2013Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
9 September 2005Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 September 1998Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 2004Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 August 2012Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
3 August 2011Natural6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
26 August 2010Debris and open burning9.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
24 August 2007Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:

Every fire recorded in Johnson County

Mines and quarries near this place

4 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 4 workings within 5 miles of Jamestown: 2 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Clay, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Johnson County PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Eureka Brick Co. Clay PitClayProducer
UnkClayPast Producer
UnkClayPast Producer

Every working recorded in Johnson County

Storms near this place

3 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Jamestown in 3 storm reports between 1995 and 2008: 1 hail, 1 thunderstorm wind, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2008Flash FloodJamestown-Street flooding occurred throughout the city.
June 1995HailJamestown-Thunderstorm winds knocked down some large tree limbs.
June 1995Thunderstorm WindJamestown-Thunderstorm winds knocked down some large tree limbs.

Every storm recorded in Johnson County

Nearest settlements

The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.

Map PlaceDistance Sheets
Spadra2.0 miles20
Clarksville2.0 miles20
New Spadra3.2 miles20
Shady Grove3.6 miles20
Lamar4.0 miles20
Bushtown (historical)4.5 miles20
Montana4.5 miles20
Knoxville Junction4.7 miles20

Provenance

This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 50585. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.

Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.