Knob, Arkansas
15 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1935 and the latest in 1984. It stands in Knob Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72436. It stands on Johnson Creek. The Survey maps it on the Boydsville quadrangle.
On record in Knob
Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.
On the National Register 1 record
Knob School-Masonic Lodgelisted 1991
Topographic sheets covering this place
8 surveys from 15 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1935 USGS Rector quadrangle1:62500, 3 printings
- 1957 USGS Poplar Bluff quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1958 USGS Rector quadrangle1:62500, 2 printings
- 1959 USGS Poplar Bluff quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Poplar Bluff quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Rector quadrangle1:62500
- 1984 USGS Boydsville quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1984 USGS Paragould quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
10 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 10 fires within 5 miles of Knob between 1997 and 2018, burning about 186 acres in total. None started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 6 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 2 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12 September 1999 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 11 September 1999 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 17 May 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 17 May 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 12 April 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 80 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 31 March 2010 | Debris and open burning | 22 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 23 March 1997 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 23 March 1997 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
1 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Knob: 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smoots Sand & Gravel Co Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer |
Storms near this place
1 since 1995Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Knob in 1 storm report in 1995: 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 1995 | Thunderstorm Wind | Knob | $5,000 | Several utility poles were knocked down. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tipperary | 3.9 miles | 15 | |
| Lower Boydsville | 4.2 miles | 15 | |
| Cache Lake | 4.6 miles | 14 | |
| Boydsville | 5.0 miles | 15 | |
| Sellmeyer (historical) | 7.4 miles | 14 | |
| Walnut Grove | 7.4 miles | 14 | |
| Hickoria | 7.6 miles | 14 | |
| Rector | 8.3 miles | 14 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 62506. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.







