Lauratown, Arkansas
12 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1934 and the latest in 1983. It stands in Lawrence Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72433. The Survey maps it on the Black Rock quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
7 surveys from 12 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1934 USGS Powhatan quadrangle1:62500
- 1935 USGS Powhatan quadrangle1:62500, 4 printings
- 1957 USGS Poplar Bluff quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1959 USGS Poplar Bluff quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Poplar Bluff quadrangle1:250000
- 1974 USGS Black Rock quadrangle1:24000
- 1983 USGS Cherokee Village quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
60 since 2004Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 60 fires within 5 miles of Lauratown between 2004 and 2020, burning about 1,963 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 16 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 31 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 16 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 4 |
| Natural | 1 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 27 September 2004 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 16 September 2004 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 9 August 2012 | Equipment and vehicle use | 18 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 8 August 2006 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 24 August 2007 | Equipment and vehicle use | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 22 July 2006 | Natural | 60 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 28 June 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 16 June 2006 | Equipment and vehicle use | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
5 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 5 workings within 5 miles of Lauratown: 4 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Zinc, Limestone, Dimension, Lead, Zinc. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Casper Mine | Zinc | Past Producer | ||
| Toles Quarry | Limestone, Dimension | Producer | ||
| Unk | Lead, Zinc | Past Producer | ||
| D F Jones | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer |
Storms near this place
2 since 2006Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Lauratown in 2 storm reports between 2006 and 2016: 1 thunderstorm wind, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 2006 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lauratown | $5,000 | Straight line winds knocked down power lines and poles near Lauratown. A shed was also blown over. |
| August 2016 | Flash Flood | Lauratown | - | County Road 528 at County Road 511 and County Road 527 at County Road 511 were impassable due to water covering the road. Both intersections are located adjacent to Big Running Creek. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arbor Grove | 2.2 miles | 12 | |
| Clover Bend | 2.7 miles | 10 | |
| Hopewell | 2.9 miles | 10 | |
| Coffman | 3.1 miles | 12 | |
| Lindsey | 4.3 miles | 10 | |
| Minturn | 4.5 miles | 10 | |
| Powhatan | 4.6 miles | 12 | |
| Portia | 4.7 miles | 12 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikidata item Q122567108 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 57087. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.






