Lerch, Arkansas
12 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1953 and the latest in 1989. It stands in Mars Hill Township. It lies in ZIP code area 71860. The Survey maps it on the Buckner quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
7 surveys from 12 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1953 USGS El Dorado quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1957 USGS El Dorado quadrangle1:250000
- 1958 USGS El Dorado quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1960 USGS El Dorado quadrangle1:250000
- 1968 USGS Buckner quadrangle1:24000
- 1986 USGS Magnolia quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
- 1989 USGS El Dorado quadrangle1:250000
Fires near this place
75 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 75 fires within 5 miles of Lerch between 1997 and 2020, burning about 1,226 acres in total. 7 started naturally. 12 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 37 |
| Debris and open burning | 14 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 12 |
| Natural | 7 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 5 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 September 2013 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 30 September 2000 | Debris and open burning | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 29 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 28 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 46 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 22 September 2004 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 22 September 2000 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 21 September 2011 | Natural | 37 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 19 September 2010 | Equipment and vehicle use | 30 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
10 of 39 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 39 workings within 5 miles of Lerch: 37 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Silica, Sulfur, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| McKamie Sulfur Plant | Sulfur | Producer | ||
| Unk | Silica | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Clay | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer |
Storms near this place
2 since 1999Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Lerch in 2 storm reports between 1999 and 2016: 2 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 2016 | Tornado (EF1) | Lerch | - | This is a continuation of the EF-1 tornado from Northwest Columbia County, with estimated winds between 90-100 mph. This tornado continued northeast across a rural area and lifted along County Road 21 just south of its intersection with County Road 81 in Southeast Lafayette County. A number of trees were snapped and uprooted before the tornado lifted. |
| January 1999 | Tornado (F0) | Lerch | - | The tornado tracked through wooded area causing no damage other than nuisance road blockages from fallen trees. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| McKamie | 1.1 miles | 12 | |
| Kress City | 6.6 miles | 16 | |
| Apalco | 7.4 miles | 12 | |
| Stamps | 7.7 miles | 12 | |
| Buckner | 7.8 miles | 12 | |
| Forest Grove | 8.3 miles | 15 | |
| Lewisville | 8.5 miles | 16 | |
| Canfield | 8.9 miles | 15 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 58059. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.






