Pine Prairie, Arkansas
13 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1950 and the latest in 1990. It stands in District 5. It lies in ZIP code area 71822. It stands on Murl Branch. The Survey maps it on the Barkman quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
6 surveys from 13 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1950 USGS Barkman quadrangle1:24000, 5 printings
- 1951 USGS Barkman quadrangle1:24000
- 1953 USGS Texarkana quadrangle1:250000, 4 printings
- 1956 USGS Texarkana quadrangle1:250000
- 1986 USGS Idabel quadrangle1:100000
- 1990 USGS Idabel quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
32 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 32 fires within 5 miles of Pine Prairie between 1997 and 2019, burning about 467 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 14 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 5 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
| Natural | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 29 September 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 September 2002 | Debris and open burning | 68 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 22 September 2000 | Equipment and vehicle use | 10 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 20 September 2004 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 19 September 2010 | Debris and open burning | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 16 September 1997 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 1 September 2011 | Smoking | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 7 August 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Storms near this place
4 since 2008Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Pine Prairie in 4 storm reports between 2008 and 2016: 2 flash flood, 1 tornado, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2008 | Flash Flood | Pine Prairie | $250,000 | Heavy rainfall flooded and washed out several county roads across the southern portion of the county. Several recreational facilities surrounding Lake Millwood also had to be closed. Flooding was particularly bad in the Cerrogordo area of northern Little River county. Pine prairie Road in the southern portion of the county was also flooded. Other roads across the county that were flooded included County Roads 15, 23, 29, 42, 56 and 59. |
| March 2008 | Tornado (EF0) | Pine Prairie | $20,000 | An EF0 tornado occurred southwest of Ashdown, Arkansas, damaging a metal building, some farm equipment and some trees. Trees were uprooted along Little River Road 23. The path was approximately 3 miles long and 100 yards wide. |
| April 2016 | Thunderstorm Wind | Pine Prairie | - | Numerous trees and power lines were blown down. |
| December 2009 | Flash Flood | Pine Prairie | - | Flooding was reported on Pine Prairie Road. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Richmond | 3.7 miles | 11 | |
| Ashdown | 4.7 miles | 11 | |
| Ogden | 5.9 miles | 13 | |
| Peytonville | 7.1 miles | 11 | |
| Comet | 7.3 miles | 11 | |
| Rankin (historical) | 7.3 miles | 11 | |
| Long | 7.4 miles | 11 | |
| Wades Chapel | 7.6 miles | 11 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 60157. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.





