Price, Arkansas
12 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1948 and the latest in 1985. It stands in Lake Hamilton Township. It lies in ZIP code area 71901. The Survey maps it on the Lake Catherine quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
8 surveys from 12 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1948 USGS Malvern quadrangle1:62500, 3 printings
- 1949 USGS Malvern quadrangle1:62500
- 1955 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1956 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1978 USGS Lake Catherine quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1985 USGS Malvern quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
144 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 144 fires within 5 miles of Price between 1997 and 2020, burning about 751 acres in total. 8 started naturally. 27 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 53 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 30 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 27 |
| Smoking | 10 |
| Natural | 8 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 6 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 6 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 3 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 1998 | Smoking | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 9 September 1998 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 7 September 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 September 2000 | Smoking | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 September 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 4.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 30 September 2000 | Debris and open burning | 10 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 29 September 2015 | Misuse of fire by a minor | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 29 September 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
10 of 30 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 30 workings within 5 miles of Price: 10 past producers, 10 producers, 5 prospects, 2 occurrences. 11 still produce. What was taken out: Vanadium, Titanium, Niobium (Columbium), Barium-Barite. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| (Facility) Jones Mills Smelter | Aluminum | Plant | ||
| Arkansas Power and Light Company Property | Fluorine-Fluorite, Pyrite | Past Producer | ||
| Christy Brookite Deposit | Titanium, Metal | Occurrence | Brookite | |
| Christy Property | Molybdenum, Titanium, Metal, Niobium (Columbium), Vanadium | Producer | Molybdenite, Rutile | |
| Christy Property | Vanadium, Titanium, Metal | Prospect | 1943, 1984, 1985 | |
| Golden-Estes Property | Molybdenum | Past Producer | ||
| Kimsey Prospect | Niobium (Columbium), Molybdenum | Producer | Brookite, Molybdenite | |
| Magnet Cove Mica Deposit | Mica | Unknown | ||
| Magnet Cove Rutile Mine | Titanium, Metal, Niobium (Columbium) | Producer | Rutile | |
| Magnet Cove Titanium Corp Deposit | Titanium, Niobium (Columbium) | Past Producer | 1890, 1932 |
Storms near this place
3 since 2009Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Price in 3 storm reports between 2009 and 2014: 2 thunderstorm wind, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 2011 | Thunderstorm Wind | Price | $40,000 | A large tree fell onto a house. |
| July 2009 | Flash Flood | Price | $25,000 | Water covered U.S. Highway 270 at the junction of Arkansas Highway 171. Water was more than two feet deep, blocking traffic. A building housing a restaurant and bar at the intersection flooded, with the fire department having to pump more than a foot of water out of the business. |
| April 2014 | Thunderstorm Wind | Price | $5,000 | Trees were blown down on U.S. 270. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Potash Sulphur Springs (historical) | 1.8 miles | 12 | |
| Lake Catherine | 2.1 miles | 12 | |
| Gulpha (historical) | 3.2 miles | 14 | |
| Spring Lake (historical) | 3.3 miles | 12 | |
| Meaford (historical) | 5.5 miles | 15 | |
| High Point (historical) | 5.5 miles | 14 | |
| Red Oak | 5.5 miles | 11 | |
| Dripping Springs (historical) | 5.6 miles | 14 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 64347. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.







