Price Place, Arkansas
18 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1893 and the latest in 1985. It stands in Marion County Township. It lies in ZIP code area 65729. It stands on Wolf Creek. The Survey maps it on the Bull Shoals quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
13 surveys from 18 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1893 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000, 2 printings
- 1903 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000
- 1905 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000, 3 printings
- 1929 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000
- 1945 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1949 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1954 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1958 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1972 USGS Bull Shoals quadrangle1:24000, 3 printings
- 1979 USGS Bull Shoals quadrangle1:24000
- 1985 USGS Bull Shoals Lake quadrangle1:100000
- 1985 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
Fires near this place
28 since 1992Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 28 fires within 5 miles of Price Place between 1992 and 2019, burning about 836 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 13 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 4 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
| Natural | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 26 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 26 August 2011 | Debris and open burning | 20 acres | Missouri Department of Conservation | not named |
| 9 June 2015 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Missouri Department of Conservation | 125710-07718-06092015-1130 |
| 26 June 2018 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | under an acre | Missouri Department of Conservation | 177175-07718-06262018-1839 |
| 3 April 1997 | Debris and open burning | 4.0 acres | Missouri Department of Conservation | not named |
| 20 April 2001 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Missouri Department of Conservation | not named |
| 19 April 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Missouri Department of Conservation | 178692-07721-04192019-1800 |
| 17 April 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
1 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Price Place: 1 occurrence. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Lead. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Irish Taylor | Lead | Occurrence |
Storms near this place
2 since 2009Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Price Place in 2 storm reports between 2009 and 2010: 1 flood, 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| October 2009 | Flood | Price Place | $100,000 | Flooding damaged many county roads. |
| April 2010 | Tornado (EF1) | Price Place | $40,000 | An EF1 tornado caused roof and siding damage to six homes at Price Place. Numerous trees were uprooted or snapped. The tornado exited Marion County, Arkansas, north-northeast of Price Place and crossed into Ozark County, Missouri, south-southeast of Pontiac. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oakland | 3.0 miles | 18 | |
| Pine Branch | 5.0 miles | 17 | |
| Midway | 6.5 miles | 17 | |
| Bull Shoals | 7.7 miles | 18 | |
| Peel | 9.6 miles | 16 | |
| Stone (historical) | 10.9 miles | 17 | |
| Fairview | 11.1 miles | 18 | |
| Kingdom Springs (historical) | 11.5 miles | 17 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikidata item Q122554039 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 61052. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.












