Ragtown, Arkansas
14 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1940 and the latest in 1990. It stands in Jackson Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72069. The Survey maps it on the Pine City quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
11 surveys from 14 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1940 USGS Holly Grove quadrangle1:62500, 2 printings
- 1948 USGS Helena quadrangle1:250000
- 1950 USGS Helena quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1955 USGS Helena quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1957 USGS Holly Grove quadrangle1:62500
- 1959 USGS Helena quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Helena quadrangle1:250000
- 1971 USGS Pine City quadrangle1:24000
- 1974 USGS Holly Grove quadrangle1:62500
- 1986 USGS Brinkley quadrangle1:100000
- 1990 USGS Brinkley quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
19 since 1999Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 19 fires within 5 miles of Ragtown between 1999 and 2015, burning about 1,368 acres in total. None started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 14 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 2 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 29 September 2004 | Debris and open burning | 62 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 September 1999 | Debris and open burning | 173 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 24 September 2014 | Debris and open burning | 37 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | MON3670550 |
| 22 September 1999 | Debris and open burning | 39 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 19 September 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 155 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 August 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 22 August 2007 | Smoking | 141 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | HOLLY GROVE |
| 18 June 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Storms near this place
3 since 2002Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Ragtown in 3 storm reports between 2002 and 2012: 2 hail, 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2012 | Tornado (EF1) | Ragtown | $300,000 | A large shed was flipped over the top of a quonset-shaped farm shop. Large holes were ripped into the sides of the shop. An irrigation pivot was overturned, tin was torn off tractor sheds and other types of sheds, and power poles and trees were blown down. The tornado exited Monroe County south-southeast of Palmer and entered Phillips County southwest of Postelle. |
| July 2005 | Hail | Ragtown | - | no account filed |
| May 2002 | Hail | Ragtown | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pine City | 2.9 miles | 14 | |
| Deep Elm | 3.4 miles | 14 | |
| Palmer | 3.4 miles | 14 | |
| Lawrenceville | 4.3 miles | 14 | |
| Perman (historical) | 4.8 miles | 14 | |
| Holly Grove | 6.1 miles | 14 | |
| Mayos | 6.3 miles | 16 | |
| Raymond (historical) | 6.4 miles | 14 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 58455. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.










