Richwoods, Arkansas
9 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1955 and the latest in 1986. It stands in Caddo Township. It lies in ZIP code area 71923. The Survey maps it on the Arkadelphia quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
6 surveys from 9 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1955 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1956 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1959 USGS Arkadelphia quadrangle1:24000, 3 printings
- 1960 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Little Rock quadrangle1:250000
- 1986 USGS Arkadelphia quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
91 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 91 fires within 5 miles of Richwoods between 1997 and 2020, burning about 960 acres in total. 6 started naturally. 11 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 29 |
| Debris and open burning | 28 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 15 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 11 |
| Natural | 6 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 September 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 475 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | VAUGHN CREEK |
| 29 September 2002 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 28 September 2014 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | CLA2285712 |
| 25 September 2015 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 20 September 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 15 September 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 13 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 12 September 2002 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
1 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Richwoods: 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Aluminum. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Robert P Patterson Plant | Aluminum | Past Producer |
Storms near this place
1 since 2018Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Richwoods in 1 storm report in 2018: 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2018 | Flash Flood | Richwoods | - | Widespread flash flooding occurred across eastern Clark County. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Midway | 2.1 miles | 9 | |
| Gum Springs | 2.1 miles | 9 | |
| Curtis | 2.9 miles | 17 | |
| Central | 4.8 miles | 9 | |
| Arkadelphia | 6.0 miles | 9 | |
| Daleville | 6.2 miles | 9 | |
| Griffithtown | 6.8 miles | 7 | |
| Smithton (historical) | 6.9 miles | 16 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 78175. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.





