South Lead Hill, Arkansas
15 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1893 and the latest in 1985. It stands in Sugar Loaf Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72644. It stands on Deshield Fork. The Survey maps it on the Diamond City quadrangle. 86 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 840 feet above sea level.
Population over time
2 figuresSouth Lead Hill fell from 102 to 86 between 2010 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.
| Year | People | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 102 | |
| 2020 | 86 | -16 (-16%) |
Topographic sheets covering this place
12 surveys from 15 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1893 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000, 2 printings
- 1903 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000
- 1905 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000, 3 printings
- 1929 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000
- 1945 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1949 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1954 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1958 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1972 USGS Diamond City quadrangle1:24000
- 1985 USGS Bull Shoals Lake quadrangle1:100000
- 1985 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
Fires near this place
81 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 81 fires within 5 miles of South Lead Hill between 1997 and 2020, burning about 1,677 acres in total. None started naturally. 54 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 54 |
| Debris and open burning | 14 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 11 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 22 September 2004 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 19 September 2006 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 15 September 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 16 August 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 6.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 12 August 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 7 April 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 April 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | 8.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 3 April 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 18 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
10 of 27 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 27 workings within 5 miles of South Lead Hill: 10 past producers, 9 occurrences, 6 unknowns, 2 prospects. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Zinc, Lead, Lead, Zinc, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Broome County | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Saturn Placer | Lead, Zinc | Occurrence | Galena | |
| Unknown Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Unknown | ||
| Unknown Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Unknown | ||
| Bailey Mine | Lead | Past Producer | ||
| Ben Harrison Mine | Lead, Zinc | Occurrence | Galena | |
| Ben Harrison Mine | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Bessie | Lead, Zinc | Past Producer | 1900 | |
| Bill Parks Prospect | Lead, Zinc | Occurrence |
Storms near this place
1 since 2025Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names South Lead Hill in 1 storm report in 2025: 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2025 | Flash Flood | South Lead Hill | - | High water was covering portions of Highway 7 near Willis. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on South Lead Hill | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q1981809 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 55033. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.











