BlockBefore
Photograph of Lee's Chapel Church and Masonic Hall
Photograph by Kennethrorie, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Lee's Chapel Church and Masonic Hall

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2001.

From the record

“Lee's Chapel Church and Masonic Hall is a historic Masonic building in rural northern Independence County, Arkansas, US. It is located on Sandtown Road, about 8 miles (13 km) east of Cushman.”

Wikipedia article Lee's Chapel Church and Masonic Hall, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 43 National Register listings published here for Independence County · listed in 2001 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 8 mi. E on Sandtown Rd., Cushman, 72501
  • When was it listed? May 2001
  • Category. building
  • Township. Jefferson township
  • National Register reference number. 01000482 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

177 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 177 fires within 5 miles of Lee's Chapel Church and Masonic Hall between 1997 and 2020, burning about 4,498 acres in total. None started naturally. 87 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism87
Debris and open burning45
Missing data/not specified/undetermined42
Equipment and vehicle use2
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2013Missing data/not specified/undetermined25 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 1999Debris and open burning7.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 2000Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
15 September 2000Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
3 August 2010Missing data/not specified/undetermined15 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
28 August 2010Debris and open burning2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
24 August 2001Debris and open burning4.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
24 August 2000Misuse of fire by a minor1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Independence County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 97 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 97 workings within 5 miles of Lee's Chapel Church and Masonic Hall: 70 past producers, 13 unknowns, 9 prospects, 3 occurrences. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Manganese, Phosphorus-Phosphates, Limestone, General, Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Blue Ridge MineManganese, IronPast Producer
Limedale Quarry & MillLimestone, GeneralProducer
UnkLimestone, GeneralUnknown
Hickory ValleyPhosphorus-PhosphatesUnknown
Lower Cave Crk Manganese LimestoneManganese, Phosphorus-PhosphatesProspect1915
Upper Cave Crk Manganese CarbonateManganese, Phosphorus-PhosphatesProspect
A G Gray MineManganesePast Producer1918
A R ChinnManganesePast Producer1917
Adler Prospect No 1ManganesePast Producer1934
Adler Prospect No 2ManganesePast Producer1937

Every working recorded in Independence County

Storms near this property

23 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Cushman, the town this property stands in, in 23 storm reports between 1994 and 2024: 7 flash flood, 6 hail, 5 thunderstorm wind, 3 flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
April 2014Flash FloodCushman$1,500,000Flash flooding struck several parts of Independence County, making numerous water rescues necessary. At least two feet of water covered Arkansas 233 at Moorefield, a mudslide occurred on Arkansas 25 near Brock Mountain, a car was under water at a convenience store in Pfeiffer, and a bridge was under water between Batesville and Moorefield on Arkansas 25 when a creek overflowed. County roads and bridges had considerable damage. A number of houses were damaged by floodwaters.
May 2011FloodCushman$1,500,000Parts of Arkansas Highways 14, 37, and 69 were closed due to flooding. Flooding in Independence County continued into June.
April 2011FloodCushman$600,000Widespread areal flooding occurred. Portions of Arkansas Highways 14, 37, and 69 were closed from the 26th through the end of the month.
May 2013Flash FloodCushman$275,000There was considerable damage to county roads and bridges. For the 24-hour period ending at 7 AM on the 31st, Batesville Lock and Dam measured 4.26 inches of rain. At the Batesville airport, rainfall on the 31st measured 6.25 inches.
April 2011Flash FloodCushman$200,000Many streets and county roads were flooded. Approximately 20 people were evacuated from low-lying areas.
July 2010LightningCushman$175,000Lightning struck a house on Lightning Ridge Road. The resulting fire burned the house to the ground, leaving only one garage door standing. Between 6:30 and 8:00 PM CDT, about 1500 lightning strikes were recorded in Independence County.
May 2011Flash FloodCushman$100,000Numerous roads were flooded. Four people had to be rescued from a vehicle that was washed off a roadway. The Batesville Motor Speedway grounds were cleared with the help of tow trucks.
October 2009Flash FloodCushman$25,000Portions of U.S. Highway 167 and Arkansas Highway 14 through Batesville were closed due to water over the road. A number of county roads were damaged.
December 2015Thunderstorm WindCushman$5,000High winds caused damage to a mobile home.
August 2008Flash FloodCushman$5,000Flash flooding was reported around Desha and in the southwestern part of the county. Power outages occurred and several roads were under water. A school bus was trapped by high water on Pine Grove Road.
July 2024Heavy RainCushman-A 24 hour rainfall total of 3.43 inches was measured at Cushman.
October 2009FloodCushman-Flash flooding which occurred on the 29th continued into the 30th as areal flooding.
May 2006Thunderstorm WindCushman-Trees down.
May 2004Thunderstorm WindCushman-Thunderstorm winds blew down some power lines and large tree limbs.
August 1995Thunderstorm WindCushman-Thunderstorm winds blew down some tree limbs.
April 2011HailCushman-no account filed
July 2005HailCushman-no account filed
November 2005HailCushman-no account filed
July 2004Thunderstorm WindCushman-no account filed
April 2003HailCushman-no account filed
May 2003HailCushman-no account filed
July 1998Flash FloodCushman-no account filed
June 1994HailCushman-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Independence County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Pfeiffer House5.8 miles1989
Spring Mill6.9 miles1974

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 01000482 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Independence CountyAll 43 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.