BlockBefore

Cottonwood School #45

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2002.

From the record

“The Cottonwood School No. 45 is a historic school building, now converted to a residence, in rural Boone County, Arkansas. It is located on Dubuque Road, northeast of the hamlet of Self.”

Wikipedia article Cottonwood School No. 45, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 21 National Register listings published here for Boone County · listed in 2002 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Cottonwood and Dubuque Rd., Self, 72662
  • When was it listed? October 2002
  • Category. building
  • Township. Omaha township
  • National Register reference number. 02001078 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

24 since 1999

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 24 fires within 5 miles of Cottonwood School #45 between 1999 and 2017, burning about 669 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning8
Missing data/not specified/undetermined7
Arson/incendiarism4
Railroad operations and maintenance2
Smoking1
Natural1
Equipment and vehicle use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 August 2006Equipment and vehicle use64 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
7 July 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
5 July 2012Railroad operations and maintenance25 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 July 2006Debris and open burning3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
18 July 2006Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
18 July 2006Arson/incendiarism16 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
27 June 2012Smoking2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
12 April 2003Debris and open burning7.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Boone County

Mines and quarries near this property

9 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Cottonwood School #45: 3 past producers, 3 unknowns, 2 occurrences, 1 prospect. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Lead, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Zinc, Lead, Zinc. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Low Gap MineLead, ZincPast ProducerGalena, Smithsonite
Bailey OutcropsZincOccurrenceSmithsonite
Charles B. WierZincOccurrence
Low Gap ProspectLeadProspect
More Lock MineLeadPast Producer
Red Fox MineLeadPast Producer
Unk Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
Unknown Gravel PiatSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
Unknown Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown

Every working recorded in Boone County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

3 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Haggard Ford Swinging Bridge4.4 miles1995
Cricket and Crest Tunnels Historic District6.9 miles2007
Bergman High School7.9 miles1992

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 02001078 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Boone CountyAll 21 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.