BlockBefore
Photograph of Memphis to Little Rock Road-Village Creek Segment
Photograph by Thomas R Machnitzki, CC BY 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Memphis to Little Rock Road-Village Creek Segment

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003.

From the record

“The Memphis to Little Rock Road was a settlement road constructed between 1819 and Reconstruction in Arkansas. The project was one of many internal improvements to assist settlement of the Old Southwest as well as military defense of the Arkansas Territory.”

Wikipedia article Memphis to Little Rock Road, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 16 National Register listings published here for Cross County · listed in 2003 · category: Structure.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • Listed as. Memphis to Little Rock Road--Village Creek Segment - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. E of Lake Austell within Village Creek State Park, Newcastle, 72396
  • When was it listed? April 2003
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Cherokee Trail of Tears MPS; Cherokee Trail of Tears MPS (Additional Documentation)
  • National Register reference number. 03000193 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

40 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 40 fires within 5 miles of Memphis to Little Rock Road-Village Creek Segment between 1998 and 2020, burning about 276 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 10 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning19
Arson/incendiarism10
Missing data/not specified/undetermined7
Misuse of fire by a minor2
Equipment and vehicle use1
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
6 September 2000Arson/incendiarism12 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
16 September 2000Arson/incendiarism15 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
12 September 2005Debris and open burning2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
27 August 2007Natural2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
27 August 2002Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
25 August 2001Debris and open burning3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
24 August 2007Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
7 July 2002Misuse of fire by a minor53 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Cross County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Memphis to Little Rock Road-Village Creek Segment: 2 unknowns, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Baskins PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
UnkStoneUnknown
UnkStoneUnknown

Every working recorded in Cross County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
New Hope School4.4 miles2008
Wittsburg Store and Gas Station5.1 miles2000
East Hamilton Avenue Historic District6.6 miles2011
Giboney-Robertson-Stewart House6.6 miles1998
South Elementary School6.7 miles2006
Woman's Progressive Club6.7 miles1990

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 03000193 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Cross CountyAll 16 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.