From the record
One of 31 National Register listings published here for Lawrence County · listed in 2003 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003.
One of 31 National Register listings published here for Lawrence County · listed in 2003 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 49 fires within 5 miles of Old US 67, Alicia to Hoxie between 1999 and 2017, burning about 1,302 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 14 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 26 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 14 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
| Natural | 1 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 27 September 2004 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 16 September 2004 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 8 August 2006 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 26 July 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 8.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 22 July 2006 | Natural | 60 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 28 June 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 June 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 16 June 2006 | Equipment and vehicle use | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Alicia, the town this property stands in, in 8 storm reports between 2010 and 2023: 7 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 2017 | Thunderstorm Wind | Alicia | $50,000 | A large grain bin was toppled and destroyed. |
| June 2018 | Thunderstorm Wind | Alicia | $20,000 | Front porch removed from a home in town. |
| July 2023 | Thunderstorm Wind | Alicia | - | Trees were blown down onto power lines in the town of Alicia. |
| June 2023 | Thunderstorm Wind | Alicia | - | Winds damaged a couple metal farm buildings. A personal weather station on the property measured winds of 85 mph. |
| August 2020 | Thunderstorm Wind | Alicia | - | Several trees and power lines were blown down. The wind was reported to have gusted up to 70 mph. |
| March 2019 | Thunderstorm Wind | Alicia | - | Road signs were blown down. |
| February 2013 | Thunderstorm Wind | Alicia | - | Straight line winds blew several trees down along Highway 67 between Alicia and Minturn. A barn was also damaged near Minturn. |
| April 2010 | Hail | Alicia | - | Nickel to quarter size hail fell in Alicia. The hail fell for 5 to 10 minutes. |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Clover Bend High School | 3.3 miles | 1983 |
| Clover Bend Historic District | 3.5 miles | 1990 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 03000397 in Record Group 79. |
| Lawrence County | All 31 listed properties in this county. |