BlockBefore

Memphis to Little Rock Road-Henard Cemetery Road Segment

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003.

From the record

One of 43 National Register listings published here for Monroe County · listed in 2003 · category: Structure.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Memphis to Little Rock Road--Henard Cemetery Road Segment - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Henard Cemetery Rd., Zent, 72021
  • When was it listed? May 2003
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Cherokee Trail of Tears MPS; Cherokee Trail of Tears MPS (Additional Documentation)
  • Township. Greenfield township
  • National Register reference number. 03000470 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

7 since 2000

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 7 fires within 5 miles of Memphis to Little Rock Road-Henard Cemetery Road Segment between 2000 and 2018, burning about 286 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2
Equipment and vehicle use1
Debris and open burning1
Natural1
Arson/incendiarism1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
1 September 2007Smoking210 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
31 August 2007Natural18 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
2 July 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
27 June 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined34 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
3 March 2007Arson/incendiarism3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
2 November 2005Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
12 January 2000Debris and open burning9.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Monroe County

Storms near this property

11 since 1999

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Zent, the town this property stands in, in 11 storm reports between 1999 and 2020: 6 flood, 3 flash flood, 2 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
May 2011FloodZent$35,000,000Parts of Arkansas Highways 1, 17, 86, 146, and 302 were closed due to flooding. Some parts of the Sheffield Nelson Dagmar Wildlife Management Area were closed due to flooding. Hundreds of people were evacuated south of Clarendon. In the southern part of the county, communities that were flooded included East Lake, Maddox Bay, Green Lake, and Indian Bay. Flooding also occurred at Deep Elm and Lawrenceville. Altogether, about 750 residences in Monroe County were flooded. Flooding in Monroe County continued into June.
June 2014Flash FloodZent$1,300,000Rainfall measured 7.25 inches 6 miles southwest of Brinkley, while Brinkley collected 7.20 inches of rain. About 40 houses were flooded in Brinkley, primarily in the Snow Addition. Several houses had to be evacuated in the Zent area as well. The Brinkley airport flooded, as did some of the hangars. Parts of U.S. 49, U.S. 70, Arkansas 86, Arkansas 238, and Arkansas 302 flooded, along with numerous county roads. Farm fields were flooded, as well. The University of Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service reported that 15,000 acres of rice, soybeans, and corn were flooded in the county.
April 2011FloodZent$275,000Widespread areal flooding occurred.
December 2009FloodZent$250,000Flash flooding, which developed early on the morning of the 24th, became widespread areal flooding later in the day on the 24th and continued into Christmas morning.
December 2009Flash FloodZent$250,000Widespread heavy rain led to the development of flash flooding early on the 24th. Several streets in Brinkley were flooded.
October 2009Flash FloodZent$75,000U.S. Highway 49 and Arkansas Highways 302 and 17 were closed due to flooding. Numerous county roads were damaged.
July 2014FloodZent$25,000Due to excessive rain on the morning of June 29th, some roads and fields remained flooded into July. Flooding of homes in Brinkley, primarily in the Snow Addition, and at the Brinkley airport also continued. Arkansas 238 southeast of Brinkley was flooded until the middle of July.
June 2014FloodZent$25,000Due to the excessive rain on the morning of the 29th, some roads and fields remained flooded into July. Flooding of homes in Brinkley, primarily in the Snow Addition, and at the Brinkley airport also continued.
January 2020Thunderstorm WindZent-A mesonet site northeast of Fargo measured a 74 mph wind gust.
October 2009FloodZent-Flash flooding which began early on the 30th became widespread areal flooding later in the day.
August 1999Thunderstorm WindZent-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Monroe County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Fargo Training School Historic District2.5 miles2010
Ellis and Charlotte Williamson House6.5 miles2020
Lo Beele House7.0 miles1982
Lick Skillet Railroad Work Station Historic District7.0 miles1992
United States Post Office7.0 miles2022
Rusher Hotel7.0 miles1986

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 03000470 in Record Group 79.
Monroe CountyAll 43 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.