BlockBefore
Photograph of Ravenden Springs School
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Ravenden Springs School

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2004.

From the record

“The Ravenden Springs School is a historic school building on Ash and Wells Streets in Ravenden Springs, Arkansas. It is a large single-story fieldstone structure with a hip roof, built in 1941.”

Wikipedia article Ravenden Springs School, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 19 National Register listings published here for Randolph County · listed in 2004 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. AR 90, Ravenden Springs, 72460
  • When was it listed? January 2004
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Public Schools in the Ozarks MPS
  • Township. Janes Creek township
  • National Register reference number. 03001379 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

119 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 119 fires within 5 miles of Ravenden Springs School between 1997 and 2020, burning about 1,803 acres in total. None started naturally. 22 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning63
Missing data/not specified/undetermined27
Arson/incendiarism22
Equipment and vehicle use3
Smoking3
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
3 September 2010Missing data/not specified/undetermined12 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
29 September 1997Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
19 September 2000Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
18 September 2004Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
16 September 2000Arson/incendiarism6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
19 August 1999Arson/incendiarism10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
10 August 2012Misuse of fire by a minor3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
19 July 1999Debris and open burning2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Randolph County

Mines and quarries near this property

4 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 4 workings within 5 miles of Ravenden Springs School: 3 unknowns, 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
UnkStoneUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown

Every working recorded in Randolph County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Yadkin Church4.6 miles2019
Old Union School7.7 miles1993

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 03001379 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Randolph CountyAll 19 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.