From the record
One of 43 National Register listings published here for Clark County · listed in 2004 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2004.
One of 43 National Register listings published here for Clark County · listed in 2004 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 96 fires within 5 miles of Arkansas 51, Old, Curtis to Gum Springs between 1997 and 2020, burning about 543 acres in total. 6 started naturally. 12 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 30 |
| Debris and open burning | 30 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 15 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 12 |
| Natural | 6 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 1 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 1997 | Natural | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 29 September 2002 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 28 September 2014 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | CLA2285712 |
| 25 September 2015 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 24 September 1999 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 20 September 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 15 September 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 13 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Arkansas 51, Old, Curtis to Gum Springs: 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Aluminum. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Robert P Patterson Plant | Aluminum | Past Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Curtis, the town this property stands in, in 13 storm reports between 1994 and 2018: 6 thunderstorm wind, 5 hail, 1 flash flood, 1 lightning. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 1994 | Thunderstorm Wind | Curtis | $50,000 | Numerous trees were knocked down. |
| June 2008 | Lightning | Curtis | $20,000 | Lightning set fire to a barn. |
| June 2018 | Thunderstorm Wind | Curtis | - | Trees were blown down by thunderstorm winds. |
| July 2007 | Flash Flood | Curtis | - | Water was reported over Central Road. |
| August 2005 | Thunderstorm Wind | Curtis | - | Trees down. |
| May 1995 | Thunderstorm Wind | Curtis | - | Thunderstorm winds downed some large tree limbs. |
| April 2008 | Hail | Curtis | - | no account filed |
| April 2008 | Hail | Curtis | - | no account filed |
| March 2006 | Thunderstorm Wind | Curtis | - | no account filed |
| September 2005 | Thunderstorm Wind | Curtis | - | no account filed |
| June 1996 | Hail | Curtis | - | no account filed |
| May 1996 | Hail | Curtis | - | no account filed |
| April 1994 | Hail | Curtis | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | US 67 Rest Area, Old | 0.8 miles | 2006 |
| Highway A-2 Bridges | 2.0 miles | 2026 | |
![]() | Bozeman House | 5.1 miles | 1978 |
![]() | Magnolia Manor | 5.6 miles | 1972 |
![]() | Domestic Science Building | 5.7 miles | 1982 |
![]() | C.E. Thompson General Store and House | 5.9 miles | 2001 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 03001457 in Record Group 79. |
| Clark County | All 43 listed properties in this county. |