BlockBefore
Photograph of Cannon Creek Bridge
Photograph by Brandonrush, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Cannon Creek Bridge

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2004.

From the record

“The Cannon Creek Bridge is a historic bridge in rural western Madison County, Arkansas. The bridge is located southeast of Durham, carrying County Road 5340 across Cannon and Coon Creeks.”

Wikipedia article Cannon Creek Bridge, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 12 National Register listings published here for Madison County · listed in 2004 · category: Structure.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Madison Cty. Rd. 5340, Cannon Creek, 72727
  • When was it listed? September 2004
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Historic Bridges of Arkansas MPS
  • Township. South township
  • National Register reference number. 04001033 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

17 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 17 fires within 5 miles of Cannon Creek Bridge between 1998 and 2017, burning about 221 acres in total. None started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined6
Arson/incendiarism5
Equipment and vehicle use3
Debris and open burning2
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
18 June 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
18 June 2012Smoking2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
22 April 2007Equipment and vehicle use31 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 April 2007Equipment and vehicle use16 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
17 April 2006Arson/incendiarism20 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
12 April 1998Equipment and vehicle use6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 March 2017Missing data/not specified/undetermined4.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
2 March 2017Missing data/not specified/undetermined40 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Madison County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Enterprise School5.7 miles1992

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 04001033 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Madison CountyAll 12 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.