BlockBefore
Photograph of Samuel D. Byrd Sr. Homestead
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Samuel D. Byrd Sr. Homestead

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2005.

From the record

“Homestead is a historic farmstead at 15966 United States Route 270, near Poyen, Arkansas. The main house of the farmstead is a single story dogtrot structure, with one log pen built in 1848, and a second pen built out of pine planking in 1850, with a gabled roof covering both pens and the breezeway between.”

Wikipedia article Samuel D. Byrd Sr. Homestead, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 10 National Register listings published here for Grant County · listed in 2005 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 3 structuress, 1 building, 1 object as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Byrd, Samuel D., Sr., Homestead - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 15966 AR 270 W, Poyen, 72128
  • When was it listed? January 2005
  • Category. building
  • Township. Fenter township
  • National Register reference number. 04001494 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

178 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 178 fires within 5 miles of Samuel D. Byrd Sr. Homestead between 1997 and 2020, burning about 1,138 acres in total. 6 started naturally. 68 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism68
Debris and open burning56
Missing data/not specified/undetermined34
Equipment and vehicle use10
Natural6
Smoking2
Railroad operations and maintenance1
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
5 September 2005Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
3 September 2010Debris and open burning2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
26 September 2017Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 2004Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 2000Arson/incendiarism7.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
18 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
18 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined9.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
18 September 2013Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Grant County

Mines and quarries near this property

6 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Samuel D. Byrd Sr. Homestead: 4 unknowns, 1 past producer, 1 occurrence. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Silica, Aluminum, Iron, Silica, Titanium. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Wilcox Group KaolinAluminum, Iron, Silica, TitaniumOccurrence
UnkSilicaUnknown
UnkSilicaUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown

Every working recorded in Grant County

Storms near this property

21 since 1999

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Poyen, the town this property stands in, in 21 storm reports between 1999 and 2023: 7 thunderstorm wind, 6 hail, 4 flash flood, 3 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
May 2022Thunderstorm WindPoyen$30,000The local EM relayed that a business in Poyen sustained roof damage.
September 2012Flash FloodPoyen$25,000Ditches overflowed, causing roads to flood.
August 2011Thunderstorm WindPoyen$5,000Trees were blown down onto U.S. 270.
June 2023HailPoyen-Half dollar sized hail fell at Poyen via mPING.
December 2021Thunderstorm WindPoyen-A tree was blown down on Hwy. 270 at Poyen.
February 2018Flash FloodPoyen-Three miles of State Highway 229 between the towns of Poyen and Fenter was closed due to high water.
September 2013Heavy RainPoyen-Rainfall amounts included 4.27 inches at Leola and 4.13 inches at Sheridan.
July 2007Flash FloodPoyen-Water was reported over several roads.
July 2007Flash FloodPoyen-Several inches of water were noted in the post office. Several rural roads in the area were under water.|
August 2003Thunderstorm WindPoyen-Thunderstorm winds downed a few trees.
June 2001Thunderstorm WindPoyen-A few trees were knocked down.
April 2014HailPoyen-no account filed
June 2012HailPoyen-no account filed
July 2005HailPoyen-no account filed
May 2004Thunderstorm WindPoyen-no account filed
May 2003HailPoyen-no account filed
June 2001HailPoyen-no account filed
May 2000Thunderstorm WindPoyen-no account filed
January 1999Tornado (F3)Poyen-no account filed
January 1999Tornado (F1)Poyen-no account filed
March 1999Tornado (F1)Poyen-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Grant County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 04001494 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Grant CountyAll 10 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.