BlockBefore
Photograph of Mack Morton Barn
Photograph by Brandonrush, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Mack Morton Barn

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2005.

From the record

“The Mack Morton Barn is a historic eleven-sided barn at 11516 Appleby Road in Appleby, Arkansas. Built about 1900 to house cows and horses, it is sheathed in board-and-batten siding and topped by a hip roof with an eleven-sided cupola at the center.”

Wikipedia article Mack Morton Barn, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 160 National Register listings published here for Washington County · listed in 2005 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Morton, Mack, Barn - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 11516 Appleby Rd., Appleby, 72730
  • When was it listed? February 2005
  • Category. building
  • Township. Farmington township
  • National Register reference number. 05000047 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

31 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 31 fires within 5 miles of Mack Morton Barn between 1997 and 2018, burning about 167 acres in total. None started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning15
Missing data/not specified/undetermined8
Arson/incendiarism4
Equipment and vehicle use2
Smoking2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 1998Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
7 September 1998Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
3 August 2006Smoking10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
28 August 2000Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 July 2006Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
26 June 2012Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 May 2008Arson/incendiarism10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 April 2007Debris and open burning10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Washington County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Mack Morton Barn: 3 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Washington County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Walnut Grove Presbyterian Church1.8 miles1995
Rieff's Chapel Cemetery2.0 miles2021
Deepwood House2.1 miles2018
Cane Hill Road Bridge2.1 miles2010
Johnson Barn2.2 miles1990
Benjamin Franklin Johnson II Homestead District2.3 miles2019

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 05000047 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Washington CountyAll 160 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.