BlockBefore
Photograph of Illinois River Bridge at Phillips Ford
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Illinois River Bridge at Phillips Ford

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2009.

From the record

“The Illinois River Bridge at Phillips Ford is a historic bridge in rural northern Washington County, Arkansas. It is a double-span closed-spandrel concrete arch bridge built in 1926 by the Luten Bridge Company, and it carries County Road 848 across the Illinois River in the Ozark National Forest south of U.S.”

Wikipedia article Illinois River Bridge at Phillips Ford, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 160 National Register listings published here for Washington County · listed in 2009 · category: Structure.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Co. Rd. 848 over the Illinois River, Savoy, 72704
  • When was it listed? January 2009
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Historic Bridges of Arkansas MPS
  • Township. Harmon township
  • National Register reference number. 08001344 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

69 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 69 fires within 5 miles of Illinois River Bridge at Phillips Ford between 1992 and 2020, burning about 729 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 38 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism38
Missing data/not specified/undetermined16
Debris and open burning6
Smoking4
Recreation and ceremony2
Fireworks1
Equipment and vehicle use1
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
4 September 1998Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
19 September 2000Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
11 September 1998Fireworks1.0 acresOzark-St. Francis National ForestsSHOOTING RANGE
10 September 2011Smoking5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
10 September 2011Arson/incendiarism1.5 acresOzark-St. Francis National ForestsTOWER RD. FIRE
7 August 2012Smoking8.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 August 1999Smokingunder an acreOzark-St. Francis National ForestsWEDINGTON REC
5 July 2014Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreOzark-St. Francis National ForestsWEDINGTON LAKE

Every fire recorded in Washington County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Illinois River Bridge at Phillips Ford: 3 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Washington County

Storms near this property

16 since 2001

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Savoy, the town this property stands in, in 16 storm reports between 2001 and 2025: 8 hail, 3 thunderstorm wind, 2 tornado, 2 flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2009HailSavoy$100,000Tennis ball size hail damaged homes and automobiles in Wedington Woods.
April 2025Thunderstorm WindSavoy$25,000Strong thunderstorm wind damaged chicken houses and snapped large tree limbs.
May 2022HailSavoy$20,000Hail up to ping pong ball size damaged vehicles and homes.
May 2022FloodSavoy-Portions of Highway 16 were flooded, and a vehicle was stranded at the bridge over the Illinois River.
May 2019Tornado (EF0)Savoy-A tornado snapped large tree limbs. Based on this damage, maximum estimated wind in the tornado was 80 to 85 mph.
December 2015FloodSavoy-Highway 16 west of Fayetteville was closed due to flooding.
May 2015Flash FloodSavoy-The Illinois River near Savoy was reported out of its banks.
May 2013Thunderstorm WindSavoy-Several large trees were blown down by strong thunderstorm winds.
May 2010Tornado (EF1)Savoy-A KNWA meteorologist reported that a tornado uprooted trees and snapped large limbs. The maximum wind speed in the tornado based on this damage was about 90 mph.
May 2025HailSavoy-no account filed
March 2017HailSavoy-no account filed
March 2015HailSavoy-no account filed
April 2011HailSavoy-no account filed
June 2009HailSavoy-no account filed
October 2007Thunderstorm WindSavoy-no account filed
May 2001HailSavoy-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Washington County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Lake Wedington Historic District3.3 miles1995
Willis Noll House6.7 miles2005
Bariola Farm7.0 miles
St. Joseph Catholic Church7.5 miles2006
Tontitown School Building7.5 miles1992
County Road 6 Bridge8.0 miles2004

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 08001344 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Washington CountyAll 160 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.