From the record
One of 11 National Register listings published here for Fulton County · listed in 2009 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2009.
One of 11 National Register listings published here for Fulton County · listed in 2009 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 89 fires within 5 miles of Mammoth Spring Dam and Lake between 1993 and 2020, burning about 962 acres in total. None started naturally. 8 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 49 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 19 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 8 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 7 |
| Smoking | 3 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 2 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 September 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 14 August 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Missouri Department of Conservation | not named |
| 12 August 2012 | Arson/incendiarism | 22 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 July 2012 | Equipment and vehicle use | 12 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 July 2012 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 July 2006 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 July 2001 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Missouri Department of Conservation | not named |
| 4 July 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Missouri Department of Conservation | 177597-02259-07042018-1845 |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Mammoth Spring Dam and Lake: 4 prospects, 3 past producers, 1 occurrence, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Iron, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Lead, Silver. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Joe Kolosky Prospect | Lead, Silver | Prospect | ||
| E C Mainprize Quarry and Mill | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | 1943 | |
| Unknown - Ls | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Arthur Arnold | Iron | Occurrence | Surface | |
| Clyde Led Be Her Prospect | Iron | Prospect | ||
| Gus Hubble Prospect | Iron | Prospect | ||
| Ragan Mine | Iron | Past Producer | ||
| Ray Gladden Property | Iron | Prospect | 1895 | |
| Unknown - Limonite | Iron | Past Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Mammoth Spring, the town this property stands in, in 4 storm reports between 1993 and 1995: 3 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 1994 | Thunderstorm Wind | Mammoth Spring | $50,000 | Thunderstorm winds knocked down trees and power lines. |
| April 1993 | Hail | Mammoth Spring | $50,000 | Hail up to 1.00 inch in diameter, broke windows and damaged roofs and cars in Mammoth Spring. |
| August 1995 | Thunderstorm Wind | Mammoth Spring | - | Thunderstorm winds downed several trees and large limbs. |
| November 1995 | Thunderstorm Wind | Mammoth Spring | - | Several large limbs were blown down. |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Kansas City, Fort Scott and Memphis Railroad Depot | 0.2 miles | 1992 |
![]() | Saint Andrew's Episcopal Church | 0.3 miles | 1986 |
![]() | T. H. Morris House | 0.6 miles | 1990 |
![]() | Spring River Bridge | 1.5 miles | 2014 |
![]() | AR 289 Bridge Over English Creek | 4.0 miles | 2009 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 09000512 in Record Group 79. |
| Fulton County | All 11 listed properties in this county. |