BlockBefore

Shumaker Naval Ammunition Depot (NAD) Administration Building

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2018.

From the record

One of 9 National Register listings published here for Calhoun County · listed in 2018 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 6415 Spellman Rd., East Camden, 71701
  • When was it listed? May 2018
  • Category. building
  • Township. Township 7
  • National Register reference number. 100002449 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

179 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 179 fires within 5 miles of Shumaker Naval Ammunition Depot (NAD) Administration Building between 1997 and 2020, burning about 856 acres in total. 10 started naturally. 45 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism45
Debris and open burning41
Missing data/not specified/undetermined41
Equipment and vehicle use24
Natural10
Recreation and ceremony6
Misuse of fire by a minor6
Smoking5
Railroad operations and maintenance1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2006Debris and open burning10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
9 September 2006Equipment and vehicle use4.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
9 September 1999Arson/incendiarism4.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 2005Equipment and vehicle use20 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 2003Arson/incendiarism7.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 2002Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 1997Debris and open burning3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
29 September 2010Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Calhoun County

Mines and quarries near this property

6 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Shumaker Naval Ammunition Depot (NAD) Administration Building: 4 unknowns, 2 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Eagle MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Unknown Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
Unknown Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
Unknown Sand PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
Unknown Sand PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown

Every working recorded in Calhoun County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Shumaker Naval Ammunition Depot (NAD) 500-Man Barracks0.3 miles2018
State Highway 274 Bridge0.7 miles1995

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100002449 in Record Group 79.
Calhoun CountyAll 9 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.