From the record
One of 25 National Register listings published here for Craighead County · listed in 2020 · category: Structure · built in 1937.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Built in 1937. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2020.
One of 25 National Register listings published here for Craighead County · listed in 2020 · category: Structure · built in 1937.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 17 fires within 5 miles of Bridge Street Bridge between 1998 and 2020, burning about 179 acres in total. None started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 5 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 3 |
| Smoking | 2 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 2 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 29 September 1999 | Equipment and vehicle use | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 19 September 1999 | Debris and open burning | 7.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 26 August 2007 | Misuse of fire by a minor | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 19 August 2001 | Misuse of fire by a minor | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 18 July 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 15 July 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 25 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 3 June 2002 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 12 May 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 15 workings within 5 miles of Bridge Street Bridge: 12 unknowns, 3 producers. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jonesboro Brick Co | Clay | Unknown | ||
| Jonesboro Brick Co | Clay | Unknown | ||
| Jonesboro Brick Co | Clay | Unknown | ||
| Griffith Pit & Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Jonesboro Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Jonesboro Pit & Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home Ice Company | under 500 feet | 2017 | |
![]() | Mercantile Bank Building | 0.4 miles | 2005 |
| Stuck, C.A., and Sons Lumber | 0.4 miles | 2002 | |
| Citizens Bank Building | 0.5 miles | 2020 | |
![]() | Jonesboro U.S. Post Office and Courthouse | 0.5 miles | 2019 |
![]() | Craighead County Courthouse | 0.5 miles | 1998 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100005580 in Record Group 79. |
| Craighead County | All 25 listed properties in this county. |