From the record
One of 18 National Register listings published here for Cleburne County · listed in 2022 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2022.
One of 18 National Register listings published here for Cleburne County · listed in 2022 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 56 fires within 5 miles of Martin Dipping Vat between 1997 and 2020, burning about 772 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 12 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 21 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 14 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 12 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 4 |
| Natural | 2 |
| Smoking | 2 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2006 | Smoking | 10 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 8 September 1997 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 7 September 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 5 September 2010 | Debris and open burning | 13 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 24 September 2016 | Equipment and vehicle use | 10 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 22 September 2001 | Debris and open burning | 20 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 7 August 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 August 2012 | Debris and open burning | 21 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Martin Dipping Vat: 2 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Concord, the town this property stands in, in 12 storm reports between 1994 and 2019: 9 hail, 3 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| November 2017 | Hail | Concord | - | Broadcast media shared a report of quarter sized hail at the Concord school in Cleburne County via a picture on Twitter. |
| May 2019 | Hail | Concord | - | no account filed |
| December 2012 | Hail | Concord | - | no account filed |
| September 2012 | Hail | Concord | - | no account filed |
| December 2012 | Hail | Concord | - | no account filed |
| August 2009 | Hail | Concord | - | no account filed |
| April 2007 | Hail | Concord | - | no account filed |
| March 2003 | Hail | Concord | - | no account filed |
| May 2000 | Thunderstorm Wind | Concord | - | no account filed |
| July 1996 | Thunderstorm Wind | Concord | - | no account filed |
| September 1996 | Thunderstorm Wind | Concord | - | no account filed |
| April 1994 | Hail | Concord | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Dill School | 5.0 miles | 1994 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100007717 in Record Group 79. |
| Cleburne County | All 18 listed properties in this county. |