From the record
One of 43 National Register listings published here for Independence County · listed in 2022 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2022.
One of 43 National Register listings published here for Independence County · listed in 2022 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 137 fires within 5 miles of Dry Run Bridge between 1997 and 2020, burning about 3,201 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 54 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 54 |
| Debris and open burning | 41 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 32 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 5 |
| Natural | 3 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 1 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20 September 2000 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 10 September 1997 | Equipment and vehicle use | 15 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 25 August 1999 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 2 August 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 30 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 16 August 2000 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 14 August 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 13 August 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 11 August 2012 | Natural | 9.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 47 workings within 5 miles of Dry Run Bridge: 28 past producers, 8 unknowns, 5 prospects, 4 producers. 4 still produce. What was taken out: Manganese, Phosphorus-Phosphates, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Batesville District | Manganese, Iron | Past Producer | 1849, 1953 | |
| Mcbride Mines | Marble, Dimension, Flagstone | Producer | ||
| Rangaire Lime Plant | Calcium | Producer | ||
| Batesville White Lime Quarry | Limestone, General | Unknown | ||
| Mcbride Plant | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Mcbride Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Unk | Limestone, General | Unknown | ||
| Blowing Cave Creek Mn Limestone | Manganese, Phosphorus-Phosphates | Prospect |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Bethesda, the town this property stands in, in 14 storm reports between 1995 and 2023: 7 hail, 4 flood, 1 tornado, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 2014 | Flash Flood | Bethesda | $55,000 | Oil Trough measured 5.34 inches of rain and a gauge 1 mile west of Salado collected 4.40 inches. A bridge was damaged on Arkansas 230. Numerous county roads and farm fields were flooded. |
| December 2009 | Flood | Bethesda | $10,000 | Heavy rainfall on the 23rd and 24th caused the White River near Batesville to rapidly rise above flood stage the morning of the 24th before falling below flood stage during the early morning hours on Christmas Day. |
| June 2014 | Flood | Bethesda | $5,000 | Areal flooding continued into the afternoon, following heavy rain in the morning. |
| March 1997 | Tornado (F0) | Bethesda | $3,000 | no account filed |
| March 2023 | Flood | Bethesda | - | Heavy rain brought flooding to the White River at Batesville in late March. |
| February 2019 | Flood | Bethesda | - | Heavy rain brought flooding to the White River at Batesville on February 11. |
| April 2009 | Hail | Bethesda | - | no account filed |
| August 2006 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bethesda | - | no account filed |
| October 2004 | Hail | Bethesda | - | no account filed |
| March 2003 | Hail | Bethesda | - | no account filed |
| March 2002 | Hail | Bethesda | - | no account filed |
| June 2001 | Hail | Bethesda | - | no account filed |
| April 1998 | Hail | Bethesda | - | no account filed |
| July 1995 | Hail | Bethesda | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dr. Paul H. Jeffery House and Office | 1.8 miles | 2023 | |
![]() | Spring Mill | 2.9 miles | 1974 |
![]() | Batesville East Main Historic District (Boundary Increase) | 6.9 miles | 1996 |
![]() | Luster Urban Farmstead | 7.1 miles | 1983 |
![]() | Central Avenue Bridge | 7.1 miles | 2010 |
![]() | Batesville Commercial Historic District | 7.1 miles | 2019 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100008153 in Record Group 79. |
| Independence County | All 43 listed properties in this county. |