BlockBefore

Shady Lake CCC Bridge #1

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2010.

From the record

One of 33 National Register listings published here for Polk County · listed in 2010 · category: Structure.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Forest Service Road 38 over the South Fork of the Saline River, Athens
  • When was it listed? October 2010
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Facilities Constructed by the CCC in Arkansas MPS
  • Township. Gap Springs township
  • National Register reference number. 10000841 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

39 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 39 fires within 5 miles of Shady Lake CCC Bridge #1 between 1992 and 2020, burning about 1,516 acres in total. 9 started naturally. 12 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism12
Natural9
Missing data/not specified/undetermined8
Debris and open burning5
Equipment and vehicle use3
Railroad operations and maintenance1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2000Arson/incendiarism15 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 2006Missing data/not specified/undetermined21 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 2006Arson/incendiarism5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 2000Natural91 acresOuachita National ForestVILES BRANCH
27 September 2004Arson/incendiarism6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
26 September 2004Arson/incendiarism35 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 1992Naturalunder an acreOuachita National Forestnot named
19 September 2004Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Polk County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 11 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 11 workings within 5 miles of Shady Lake CCC Bridge #1: 8 past producers, 2 prospects, 1 unknown. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Manganese, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Barium-Barite, Kaolin. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Avant & HeathSlate, DimensionPast Producer
Pike County ClaysKaolinUnknown
He Mountain Coon CreekBarium-BaritePast Producer
National Slate Co QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Tom Heath QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Viles CreekBarium-BaritePast Producer
E S White ProspectManganeseProspect
Harold Bullard ProspectsManganeseProspect
Harris Creek GroupManganesePast Producer
ParsonManganesePast Producer

Every working recorded in Polk County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Shady Lake Recreation Area Historic District0.2 miles2015
Shady Lake Picnic Pavilion0.3 miles1993
Shady Lake CCC Bridge #20.4 miles2010
Shady Lake Bathhouse0.4 miles1993
Shady Lake Dam0.6 miles1993
Shady Lake Caretaker's House0.6 miles1993

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 10000841 in Record Group 79.
Polk CountyAll 33 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.