BlockBefore

Steele-Dortch General Store

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2025.

From the record

One of 383 National Register listings published here for Pulaski County · listed in 2025 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Still standing. The Park Service records this property as extant.
  • Address. 4815 Arkansas Highway 161 South, Scott
  • When was it listed? January 2025
  • Category. building
  • Township. Hill township
  • National Register reference number. 100011294 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

8 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 8 fires within 5 miles of Steele-Dortch General Store between 1997 and 2018, burning about 112 acres in total. None started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism3
Debris and open burning2
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
2 August 1997Debris and open burning20 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
8 July 2016Misuse of fire by a minor1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
12 June 2001Debris and open burning6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
9 March 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
8 March 2006Arson/incendiarism5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
31 March 2005Arson/incendiarism62 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
26 March 2001Arson/incendiarism10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
27 January 2014Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresArkansas Forestry CommissionPUL3131498

Every fire recorded in Pulaski County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
McKenzie Houseunder 500 feet1992
Seed Warehouse No. 50.2 miles2010
All Souls Church0.3 miles1977
Fred and Lucy Alexander Schaer House5.6 miles2007
Harris House6.0 miles1998
Land's End Plantation6.7 miles1999

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100011294 in Record Group 79.
Pulaski CountyAll 383 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.