BlockBefore
Photograph of Darden-Gifford House
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Darden-Gifford House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.

From the record

“The Darden-Gifford House is a historic house in rural White County, Arkansas, north of Arkansas Highway 5 near the community of Rose Bud. It is a two-story wood-frame structure, with a side gable roof, weatherboard siding, and a two-story porch sheltered by a projecting gable-roofed section.”

Wikipedia article Darden-Gifford House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 203 National Register listings published here for White County · listed in 1976 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. N of Rosebud off AR 5, Rosebud, 72137
  • When was it listed? January 1976
  • Category. building
  • Township. Cadron township
  • National Register reference number. 76000474 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

75 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 75 fires within 5 miles of Darden-Gifford House between 1997 and 2020, burning about 1,261 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 8 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning28
Missing data/not specified/undetermined25
Arson/incendiarism8
Equipment and vehicle use6
Natural4
Smoking2
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2005Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 2010Missing data/not specified/undetermined12 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 2000Debris and open burning12 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 2010Debris and open burning16 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
2 September 2012Debris and open burning6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
19 September 2000Missing data/not specified/undetermined40 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
14 September 2011Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
14 September 2000Smoking65 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in White County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Darden-Gifford House: 3 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
UnkClayPast Producer
UnkStonePast Producer
Unk Stone QuariesStonePast Producer

Every working recorded in White County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

4 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
E. D. Maddox Farm Chicken House0.5 miles1992
Mount Olive-Bedford Chapel Cemetery6.0 miles2019
Pence-Carmichael Farm, Barn and Root Cellar7.0 miles1992
Scott-Davis House7.6 miles1992

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 76000474 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
White CountyAll 203 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.