BlockBefore
Photograph of Yell Masonic Lodge Hall
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Yell Masonic Lodge Hall

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.

From the record

“The Yell Masonic Lodge Hall is a historic Masonic lodge on the west side of United States Route 412 in Carrollton, Arkansas. Also known as Carrollton Masonic Lodge, it is a two-story wood-frame structure measuring about 50 by 35 feet with a front-gable roof, clapboard siding, and a stone foundation.”

Wikipedia article Yell Masonic Lodge Hall, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 34 National Register listings published here for Carroll County · listed in 1984 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Off AR 68, Carrollton, 72611
  • When was it listed? November 1984
  • Category. building
  • Township. Southeast township
  • National Register reference number. 84000178 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

30 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 30 fires within 5 miles of Yell Masonic Lodge Hall between 1997 and 2020, burning about 1,304 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined12
Debris and open burning10
Arson/incendiarism4
Smoking2
Natural1
Equipment and vehicle use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 August 2012Natural50 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 July 2012Debris and open burning250 acresArkansas Forestry CommissionALPENA
29 July 2012Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
3 April 1997Debris and open burning8.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
25 April 1998Arson/incendiarism8.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
20 April 1999Debris and open burning8.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
17 April 2004Smoking40 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
8 March 2017Missing data/not specified/undetermined512 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Carroll County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Yell Masonic Lodge Hall: 1 prospect. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Strontium. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Orval K Hawkin PropertyStrontiumProspect

Every working recorded in Carroll County

Storms near this property

6 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Carrollton, the town this property stands in, in 6 storm reports between 1995 and 2015: 4 thunderstorm wind, 2 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
April 2015Thunderstorm WindCarrollton$25,000Strong thunderstorm wind snapped several trees. A tree was blown down onto a house.
September 2006Thunderstorm WindCarrollton$1,000Thunderstorm winds estimated at 70 miles an hour blew down power lines and trees.
August 2001Thunderstorm WindCarrollton-Thunderstorm winds estimated at 70 miles an hour blew several trees down.
April 1995Thunderstorm WindCarrollton-Severe thunderstorms moved across northwest Arkansas during the late evening of April 17th into the very early morning of April 18th. The storms produced large hail, damaging winds, and 1 tornado. The tornado touched down 5 miles northeast of Evansville near the top of Starlight Mountain at 2313CST. This F-1 tornado damaged 1 home and destroyed 2 chicken houses along its 1/2 mile length and 75 yard width. Strong thunderstorm winds damaged several buildings in Rogers, including blowing the roof off the National Guard Armory Building. Several large trees were also downed in Rogers. A tree was blown onto a house near Elm Springs, and a large tree was blown onto a trailer in Siloam Springs. Some chicken houses were blown down in Morrow, and numerous trees and power lines were blown down near Cave Springs. Strong thunderstorm winds downed several trees 3 miles north of Spring Valley, and several large tree limbs were blown down in Huntsville and 3 miles north of Carrollton. Thunderstorm winds gusted to 60 miles an hour 7 miles south of Prairie Grove and 4 miles west of Greenwood, and dime size hail fell at Maysville.
June 2014HailCarrollton-no account filed
April 2007HailCarrollton-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Carroll County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

3 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Dog Branch School4.6 miles1992
Shady Grove Delmar Church and School7.0 miles2015
Stamps Store7.2 miles1990

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 84000178 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Carroll CountyAll 34 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.