BlockBefore
Photograph of Rocky Branch School
Photograph by Melodibit, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Rocky Branch School

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1988.

From the record

“The Rocky Branch School is a historic school building in rural eastern Benton County, Arkansas. It is located at the northern terminus of Arkansas Highway 303, where it joins with County Roads 85 and 99, and stands opposite the Rocky Branch Church.”

Wikipedia article Rocky Branch School, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 162 National Register listings published here for Benton County · listed in 1988 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 200 N. Hwy. 303, Prairie Creek, 72756
  • When was it listed? March 1988
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Benton County MRA
  • Township. Township 1
  • National Register reference number. 87002360 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

60 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 60 fires within 5 miles of Rocky Branch School between 1997 and 2020, burning about 2,052 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 17 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined23
Arson/incendiarism17
Debris and open burning14
Natural3
Smoking3

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 August 2009Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
7 August 2011Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 August 2012Natural5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
2 August 2012Natural380 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
15 August 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
10 August 2012Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
5 July 2012Arson/incendiarism15 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
25 July 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Benton County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Rocky Branch School: 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
RogersSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Benton County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Van Winkle's Mill Site1.9 miles2007
Coal Gap School2.9 miles1992
War Eagle Bridge4.1 miles1985
Stack Barn6.4 miles1988
Markey House7.0 miles1988
Oklahoma Row Hotel Site7.7 miles1992

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 87002360 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Benton CountyAll 162 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.