BlockBefore

Hiwasse Bank Building

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1988.

From the record

“The Hiwasse Bank Building is a historic commercial building in the rural community of Hiwasse, Arkansas. It is located on Arkansas Highway 279, a short way south of its junction with Arkansas Highway 72, abutting a similar but slightly newer commercial building.”

Wikipedia article Hiwasse Bank Building, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 162 National Register listings published here for Benton County · listed in 1988 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Main St., AR 279, Hiwasse, 72739
  • When was it listed? January 1988
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Benton County MRA
  • Township. Township 4
  • National Register reference number. 87002366 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

15 since 2005

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 15 fires within 5 miles of Hiwasse Bank Building between 2005 and 2020, burning about 563 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined8
Arson/incendiarism3
Equipment and vehicle use2
Natural1
Debris and open burning1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 August 2012Natural3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
26 August 2011Equipment and vehicle use8.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
17 July 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
8 April 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 April 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined142 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
16 April 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined42 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 March 2017Missing data/not specified/undetermined6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
20 March 2005Arson/incendiarism120 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Benton County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Banks House0.7 miles1988
Bolin Barn and Smokehouse3.7 miles1988
Bella Vista Water Tank4.9 miles1992
Bella Vista Village Country Club5.4 miles2021
Bogan Cabin5.6 miles1988
Deaton Cabin5.6 miles1988

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 87002366 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Benton CountyAll 162 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.