BlockBefore
Photograph of Wasson House
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Wasson House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1988.

From the record

“The Wasson House is a historic house on Main Street in Springtown, Arkansas. It is a well-preserved example of an I-house, built c. 1890.”

Wikipedia article Wasson House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 162 National Register listings published here for Benton County · listed in 1988 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss, 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Main St., Springtown, 72734
  • When was it listed? January 1988
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Benton County MRA
  • Township. Township 5
  • National Register reference number. 87002371 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

17 since 2005

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 17 fires within 5 miles of Wasson House between 2005 and 2018, burning about 1,363 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined10
Arson/incendiarism4
Debris and open burning2
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
6 September 2013Missing data/not specified/undetermined60 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
5 August 2011Missing data/not specified/undetermined994 acresArkansas Forestry CommissionHONEY CREEK
15 August 2012Natural25 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
15 August 2012Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
3 July 2006Arson/incendiarism30 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
1 July 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined25 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
11 May 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined8.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
7 March 2010Arson/incendiarism5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Benton County

Mines and quarries near this property

4 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 4 workings within 5 miles of Wasson House: 2 unknowns, 1 producer, 1 past producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Zinc, Lead. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Unknown - Zn/PbZinc, LeadPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown

Every working recorded in Benton County

Storms near this property

3 since 2013

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Springtown, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 2013 and 2022: 3 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
April 2022Flash FloodSpringtown-A one-mile section of Highway 12 was flooded and closed in both directions.
May 2013Flash FloodSpringtown-Portions of Highway 264 were reported flooded.
April 2013Flash FloodSpringtown-Pleasant Valley Road was flooded and was impassable.

Every storm recorded in Benton County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Mitchell House3.2 miles1988
Bank of Gentry3.3 miles1988
Carpenter Building3.3 miles2018
Railroad Cottage3.3 miles2005
Carl House3.4 miles1988
Mitchell-Ward House3.4 miles2005

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 87002371 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Benton CountyAll 162 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.