BlockBefore
Photograph of Henry R. Koen Forest Service Building
Photograph by Atuprof, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Henry R. Koen Forest Service Building

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1989.

From the record

“Koen Forest Service Building is a historic federal government office building at 605 West Main Street in Russellville, Arkansas. It is a two-story stone and frame structure, built in 1939 by crews of the Civilian Conservation Corps.”

Wikipedia article Henry R. Koen Forest Service Building, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 38 National Register listings published here for Pope County · listed in 1989 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Koen, Henry R., Forest Service Building - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 605 W. Main St., Russelville, 72802
  • When was it listed? December 1989
  • Category. building
  • District. District 10
  • National Register reference number. 89001628 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

38 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 38 fires within 5 miles of Henry R. Koen Forest Service Building between 1997 and 2020, burning about 190 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning13
Missing data/not specified/undetermined9
Arson/incendiarism5
Equipment and vehicle use4
Misuse of fire by a minor3
Smoking2
Natural1
Railroad operations and maintenance1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2005Misuse of fire by a minor6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 2000Smoking1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 2004Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
10 September 2005Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
10 September 2005Debris and open burning6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
8 August 2002Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 August 2006Natural1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 August 2000Smoking1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Pope County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 43 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 43 workings within 5 miles of Henry R. Koen Forest Service Building: 25 unknowns, 9 past producers, 8 producers, 1 occurrence. 8 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Stone, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Black-Sands DepositTitaniumOccurrence
Dierks Crystal Area No 6SilicaPast Producer
Jacimore Ocher CaveIronUnknown
BerniceClayPast Producer
Shale PitClayUnknown
Bernice QuarryStonePast Producer
UnkStonePast Producer
UnkStonePast Producer
UnknownStoneUnknown
UnknownStoneUnknown

Every working recorded in Pope County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 89001628 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Pope CountyAll 38 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.