BlockBefore
Photograph of Big Piney Creek Bridge
Photograph by Louise T. Taft, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Big Piney Creek Bridge

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1990.

From the record

“The Big Piney Creek Bridge is a historic bridge, carrying Arkansas Highway 123 across Big Piney Creek in Ozark-St. Francis National Forest, northeast of Hagarville, Arkansas.”

Wikipedia article Big Piney Creek Bridge, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 35 National Register listings published here for Johnson County · listed in 1990 · category: Structure.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. AR 123, over Big Piney Creek, Hagersville, 72839
  • When was it listed? April 1990
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Historic Bridges of Arkansas MPS
  • Township. Perry township
  • National Register reference number. 90000506 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

41 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 41 fires within 5 miles of Big Piney Creek Bridge between 1992 and 2018, burning about 1,754 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 26 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism26
Natural4
Equipment and vehicle use3
Debris and open burning3
Power generation/transmission/distribution2
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
4 September 1999Arson/incendiarismunder an acreOzark-St. Francis National ForestsPETERS BRANCH
23 August 1999Arson/incendiarism3.0 acresOzark-St. Francis National ForestsPINE RIDGE
23 August 1998Arson/incendiarism3.0 acresOzark-St. Francis National ForestsPINE RIDGE
1 August 2012Natural1,435 acresOzark-St. Francis National ForestsHESS KNOB
8 July 2012Naturalunder an acreOzark-St. Francis National ForestsSINGLE TREE
28 June 2013Missing data/not specified/undetermined16 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
28 June 2013Equipment and vehicle use16 acresOzark-St. Francis National ForestsFT. DOUGLAS
8 April 2007Arson/incendiarism30 acresOzark-St. Francis National ForestsHESS KNOB

Every fire recorded in Johnson County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Union School6.0 miles2011

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 90000506 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Johnson CountyAll 35 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.