BlockBefore
Photograph of Home Economics-F.F.A. Building
Photograph by Colinhester, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Home Economics-F. F. A. Building

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1990.

From the record

“Building is a historic school building on City Park Drive in Portia, Arkansas. It is a single-story sandstone structure with a gable roof.”

Wikipedia article Home Economics-F.F.A. Building, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 31 National Register listings published here for Lawrence County · listed in 1990 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Home Economics--F. F. A. Building - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. City Park Dr., Portia, 72457
  • When was it listed? June 1990
  • Category. building
  • Township. Duty township
  • National Register reference number. 90000901 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

30 since 2001

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 30 fires within 5 miles of Home Economics-F. F. A. Building between 2001 and 2020, burning about 852 acres in total. None started naturally. 8 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning11
Missing data/not specified/undetermined10
Arson/incendiarism8
Equipment and vehicle use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 August 2012Equipment and vehicle use18 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
27 August 2007Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
24 June 2016Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 June 2009Debris and open burning80 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
3 April 2011Missing data/not specified/undetermined45 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
23 April 2007Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
14 April 2004Debris and open burning3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
5 March 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined180 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Lawrence County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 17 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 17 workings within 5 miles of Home Economics-F. F. A. Building: 15 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Lead, Zinc, Limestone, Dimension, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Toles QuarryLimestone, DimensionProducer
Verkler QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Campbell Zinc Co's Shafts 2 & 3Lead, ZincPast Producer
UnkLead, ZincPast Producer
D F JonesSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Lawrence County

Storms near this property

6 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Portia, the town this property stands in, in 6 storm reports between 1998 and 2019: 3 thunderstorm wind, 2 hail, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
February 2018Thunderstorm WindPortia$50,000Multiple reports of trees downed across Lawrence County. A couple of barns sustained roof damage.
May 2000Thunderstorm WindPortia$10,000Several trees and power lines were blown down.
March 1998HailPortia$10no account filed
August 2019Thunderstorm WindPortia-Power lines were downed in Portia.
March 2008Flash FloodPortia-Heavy rain produced flash flooding along Highway 63 between Portia and Ravenden. Three feet of water covered the road in spots.
April 2015HailPortia-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Lawrence County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Portia Schoolunder 500 feet1978
US 63 Black River Bridge1.5 miles2000
Telephone Exchange Building2.6 miles1989
Ficklin-Imboden House2.6 miles1989
Powhatan Jail2.7 miles1989
Powhatan Methodist Church2.8 miles1977

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 90000901 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Lawrence CountyAll 31 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.