BlockBefore
Photograph of Camp Ouachita Girl Scout Camp Historic District
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Camp Ouachita Girl Scout Camp Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1992.

From the record

“The Camp Ouachita Girl Scout Camp Historic District encompasses a campground area built by crews of the Civilian Conservation Corps in the 1930s on the northern shore of Lake Sylvia, a man-made lake in the eastern part of Ouachita National Forest. The center of the campground, including its Great Hall and administration buildings, is located at the northern tip of Lake Sylvia, with cabins, comfort facilities, and other infrastructure arrayed around the northern and western sides of the lake.”

Wikipedia article Camp Ouachita Girl Scout Camp Historic District, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 15 National Register listings published here for Perry County · listed in 1992 · category: District.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. Area surrounding and N of Lake Sylvia, Ouachita NF, Paron, 72126
  • When was it listed? February 1992
  • Category. district
  • Also known as. Facilities Constructed by the CCC in Arkansas MPS
  • Township. Maumelle township
  • National Register reference number. 90001826 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

106 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 106 fires within 5 miles of Camp Ouachita Girl Scout Camp Historic District between 1992 and 2020, burning about 1,934 acres in total. 13 started naturally. 41 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism41
Missing data/not specified/undetermined21
Debris and open burning17
Natural13
Equipment and vehicle use5
Recreation and ceremony4
Power generation/transmission/distribution3
Misuse of fire by a minor2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 2012Natural10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 September 2010Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
18 September 2000Debris and open burning10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
15 September 2006Debris and open burning11 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
10 September 1998Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresOuachita National ForestLAKE SYLVIA
9 August 2013Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
8 August 1999Debris and open burning2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
31 August 2004Natural4.0 acresOuachita National ForestHWY 9

Every fire recorded in Perry County

Mines and quarries near this property

5 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 5 workings within 5 miles of Camp Ouachita Girl Scout Camp Historic District: 4 unknowns, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Silica, Quartz. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Kuhn MineQuartzProducer1987, 1989
Hester ProspectSilicaUnknown
J.T.WillisSilicaUnknown
Lake Sylvia ProspectSilicaUnknown
Monro JohnsonSilicaUnknown

Every working recorded in Perry County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 90001826 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Perry CountyAll 15 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.