BlockBefore

Morris Institute Dairy Barn

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1992.

From the record

“The Morris Institute Dairy Barn was a historic barn in rural White County, Arkansas. It was located on the campus of the Morris Institute, northwest of Searcy off Arkansas Highway 320.”

Wikipedia article Morris Institute Dairy Barn, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 203 National Register listings published here for White County · listed in 1992 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Co. Rd. 41 S of jct. with Co. Rd. 818, Crosby, 72143
  • When was it listed? July 1992
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. White County MPS
  • Township. Big Creek township
  • National Register reference number. 91001332 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

49 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 49 fires within 5 miles of Morris Institute Dairy Barn between 1997 and 2020, burning about 923 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 9 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning21
Missing data/not specified/undetermined12
Arson/incendiarism9
Smoking2
Natural2
Equipment and vehicle use2
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2004Debris and open burning20 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 1997Debris and open burning10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
19 September 1999Debris and open burning7.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
5 August 2008Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 August 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
3 August 2006Debris and open burning30 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
29 August 2001Equipment and vehicle use4.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
29 August 2000Debris and open burning4.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in White County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Morris Institute Dairy Barn: 2 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
UnkStonePast Producer
UnkClayPast Producer

Every working recorded in White County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Critz, Col. John, Farm, Springhouse0.8 miles1992
Titan II ICBM Launch Complex 373-5 Site1.2 miles2000
Smyrna Methodist Church1.8 miles1992
Gray House3.7 miles1992
Gray-Kincaid House3.9 miles1992
New Mt. Pisgah School4.3 miles1992

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 91001332 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
White CountyAll 203 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.