BlockBefore
Photograph of Childers Farmstead
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Childers Farmstead

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1992.

From the record

“The Childers Farmstead is a historic farm property in rural southern White County, Arkansas. It is located south of McRae, near the junction of Bowman and Rip Kirk Roads.”

Wikipedia article Childers Farmstead, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 203 National Register listings published here for White County · listed in 1992 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss, 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. E of AR 367 S of McRae, McRae, 72102
  • When was it listed? July 1992
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. White County MPS
  • Township. Gum Springs township
  • National Register reference number. 91001349 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

53 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 53 fires within 5 miles of Childers Farmstead between 1998 and 2020, burning about 1,022 acres in total. None started naturally. 11 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning22
Missing data/not specified/undetermined14
Arson/incendiarism11
Equipment and vehicle use3
Smoking3

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 1998Smoking13 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 2014Debris and open burning15 acresArkansas Forestry CommissionWHI17938919
29 September 2010Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
23 September 2010Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
19 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
10 September 1998Smoking1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
7 August 2006Debris and open burning10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 August 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in White County

Storms near this property

2 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names McRae, the town this property stands in, in 2 storm reports between 1994 and 1995: 1 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 1994Thunderstorm WindMcRae$5,000Thunderstorm winds downed some trees.
June 1995HailMcRae-Hail up to quarter-size damaged roofs and broke windows at Floyd.

Every storm recorded in White County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Emmett McDonald House1.1 miles1992
Caldwell House1.3 miles1991
McRae Jail1.4 miles1992
Booth-Weir House1.9 miles1991
William Thomas Abington House3.0 miles1992
Beebe Jail3.2 miles1991

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 91001349 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
White CountyAll 203 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.