BlockBefore
Photograph of Mather Lodge
Photograph by Brandonrush, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Petit Jean State Park-Mather Lodge

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1992.

From the record

“Mather Lodge is a historic park facility at Petit Jean State Park in Conway County, Arkansas. It is the centerpiece of the park's developed infrastructure, providing lodging, a meeting and function space, and a restaurant for park visitors.”

Wikipedia article Mather Lodge, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 50 National Register listings published here for Conway County · listed in 1992 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Petit Jean State Park--Mather Lodge - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Main access rd., Petit Jean State Park, Winrock, 72110
  • When was it listed? May 1992
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Facilities Constructed by the CCC in Arkansas MPS
  • Township. White Eagle township
  • National Register reference number. 92000521 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

23 since 2000

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 23 fires within 5 miles of Petit Jean State Park-Mather Lodge between 2000 and 2016, burning about 1,842 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning9
Missing data/not specified/undetermined5
Arson/incendiarism5
Equipment and vehicle use3
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
19 September 2000Missing data/not specified/undetermined15 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
1 September 2000Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 August 2012Natural7.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
31 August 2000Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 August 2000Arson/incendiarism1,401 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
29 August 2000Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
23 August 2007Equipment and vehicle use6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Conway County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Petit Jean State Park-Mather Lodge: 3 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Clay, Titanium, Stone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Black SandsTitaniumPast Producer
UnkClayPast Producer
UnkStonePast Producer

Every working recorded in Conway County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 92000521 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Conway CountyAll 50 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.