BlockBefore

Remmel Dam

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1992.

From the record

One of 27 National Register listings published here for Hot Spring County · listed in 1992 · category: Structure.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Remmel Dam Rd., Jones Mill
  • When was it listed? September 1992
  • Category. structure
  • Township. Fenter township
  • National Register reference number. 92001084 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

199 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 199 fires within 5 miles of Remmel Dam between 1997 and 2020, burning about 772 acres in total. 7 started naturally. 30 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning76
Missing data/not specified/undetermined42
Arson/incendiarism30
Smoking16
Equipment and vehicle use14
Natural7
Misuse of fire by a minor6
Railroad operations and maintenance6
Recreation and ceremony2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 1998Smoking1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
9 September 1998Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
7 September 2000Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 2000Smoking1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 2005Debris and open burning2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 1997Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 September 2015Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Hot Spring County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 31 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 31 workings within 5 miles of Remmel Dam: 8 past producers, 7 unknowns, 7 producers, 7 prospects. 8 still produce. What was taken out: Titanium, Stone, Vanadium, Barium-Barite. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
(Facility) Jones Mills SmelterAluminumPlant
Christy Brookite DepositTitanium, MetalOccurrenceBrookite
Christy Deposit.Vanadium, Titanium, Niobium (Columbium)Prospect1890, 1976
Christy PropertyMolybdenum, Titanium, Metal, Niobium (Columbium), VanadiumProducerMolybdenite, Rutile
Christy PropertyVanadium, Titanium, MetalProspect1943, 1984, 1985
Golden-Estes PropertyMolybdenumPast Producer
Kimsey ProspectNiobium (Columbium), MolybdenumProducerBrookite, Molybdenite
Magnet Cove Mica DepositMicaUnknown
Magnet Cove Rutile MineTitanium, Metal, Niobium (Columbium)ProducerRutile
Magnet Cove Titanium Corp DepositTitanium, Niobium (Columbium)Past Producer1890, 1932

Every working recorded in Hot Spring County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 92001084 in Record Group 79.
Hot Spring CountyAll 27 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.