BlockBefore
Photograph of Spring Valley School District 120 Building
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Spring Valley School District 120 Building

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1992.

From the record

“The Spring Valley School District 120 Building is a historic school building on County Road 379 in the small village of Spring Valley, Washington County, Arkansas, behind the Spring Valley Baptist Church. It is a single-story stone masonry structure with a hip roof and an entrance recessed under an arched corner porch.”

Wikipedia article Spring Valley School District 120 Building, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 160 National Register listings published here for Washington County · listed in 1992 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Co. Rd. 379, Spring Valley, 72764
  • When was it listed? September 1992
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Public Schools in the Ozarks MPS
  • Township. Brush Creek township
  • National Register reference number. 92001119 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

25 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 25 fires within 5 miles of Spring Valley School District 120 Building between 1997 and 2020, burning about 295 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined11
Debris and open burning8
Arson/incendiarism3
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Smoking1
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 1998Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
19 September 2013Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
14 September 2011Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 August 2012Natural5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
10 August 1998Smoking1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
24 July 2006Debris and open burning10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
10 July 2011Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
10 July 2011Debris and open burning3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Washington County

Storms near this property

3 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Spring Valley, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports in 1995: 2 hail, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
April 1995Thunderstorm WindSpring Valley-no account filed
May 1995HailSpring Valley-no account filed
May 1995HailSpring Valley-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Washington County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Tisdale Store-Goshen Post Office6.2 miles2024

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 92001119 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Washington CountyAll 160 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.