BlockBefore
Photograph of Cold Springs School
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Cold Springs School

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1992.

From the record

“The Cold Springs School is a historic school building in a remote area of the Buffalo National River in southeastern Marion County, Arkansas. It is located at a place called Cold Springs Hollow that is now only accessible from the river.”

Wikipedia article Cold Springs School, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 28 National Register listings published here for Marion County · listed in 1992 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Cold Spring Hollow, just E of Buffalo R., Big Flat, 72687
  • When was it listed? October 1992
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Public Schools in the Ozarks MPS
  • Township. Marion County township
  • National Register reference number. 92001494 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

164 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 164 fires within 5 miles of Cold Springs School between 1992 and 2020, burning about 13,017 acres in total. 8 started naturally. 120 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism120
Missing data/not specified/undetermined17
Debris and open burning15
Natural8
Recreation and ceremony2
Smoking2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 1999Arson/incendiarismunder an acreOzark-St. Francis National ForestsTRASH
3 September 1995Arson/incendiarism66 acresBuffalo National RiverTRAILHEAD
3 September 1995Arson/incendiarism32 acresBuffalo National RiverSAWLOG
3 September 1995Arson/incendiarism40 acresBuffalo National RiverLEON
3 September 1995Arson/incendiarism20 acresBuffalo National RiverGENE
17 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
3 August 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresBuffalo National RiverSCHNAUZER LANE
3 August 2011Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Marion County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 26 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 26 workings within 5 miles of Cold Springs School: 9 unknowns, 8 past producers, 7 occurrences, 2 prospects. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Zinc, Lead, Lead, Zinc, Copper. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Omeara ProspectTungsten, ZincOccurrence
TomahawkCopperPast Producer
Boat CreekLead, ZincUnknown
Dry BoneLead, ZincUnknown
FoxdenLead, ZincUnknown
UnknownLead, ZincUnknown
UnknownLead, ZincUnknown
UnknownLead, ZincUnknown
Carbonate Point ProspectLead, ZincOccurrence
Chickasaw MineLead, ZincUnknown

Every working recorded in Marion County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Rush Historic District5.6 miles1987
Buffalo River State Park5.7 miles1988

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 92001494 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Marion CountyAll 28 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.