BlockBefore

Bogg Springs Hotel

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1993.

From the record

“The Bogg Springs Hotel is a historic hotel in rural Polk County, Arkansas. Built in 1904-07, it is the only surviving element of a summer resort that thrived in the area in the 1920s.”

Wikipedia article Bogg Springs Hotel, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 33 National Register listings published here for Polk County · listed in 1993 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building, 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. AR 84, Bogg Springs, 71973
  • When was it listed? September 1993
  • Category. building
  • Township. White township
  • National Register reference number. 93001023 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

92 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 92 fires within 5 miles of Bogg Springs Hotel between 1992 and 2020, burning about 1,154 acres in total. 8 started naturally. 45 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism45
Missing data/not specified/undetermined20
Debris and open burning15
Natural8
Railroad operations and maintenance2
Equipment and vehicle use2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
5 September 2015Debris and open burning2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 2017Missing data/not specified/undetermined6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
26 September 2017Missing data/not specified/undetermined210 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
22 September 1999Arson/incendiarism7.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 2010Natural1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
18 September 2002Debris and open burning17 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
12 September 2010Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
1 September 2002Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Polk County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Bogg Springs Hotel: 2 prospects, 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Manganese. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Doty ClaimManganesePast Producer
HablitzelManganeseProspect
Unnamed ProspectManganeseProspect1941

Every working recorded in Polk County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Wickes School5.5 miles2024

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 93001023 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Polk CountyAll 33 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.