From the record
One of 14 National Register listings published here for Scott County · listed in 1993 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1993.
One of 14 National Register listings published here for Scott County · listed in 1993 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 19 fires within 5 miles of Powder Magazine between 1993 and 2019, burning about 569 acres in total. 10 started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Natural | 10 |
| Debris and open burning | 3 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 2 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 September 2006 | Debris and open burning | 258 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | 148 |
| 7 September 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 15 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 September 2001 | Natural | 12 acres | Ouachita National Forest | POTATO KNOB |
| 30 September 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 19 September 2000 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 14 September 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.4 acres | Ouachita National Forest | HOGAN MTN |
| 30 August 1993 | Natural | 1.0 acres | Ouachita National Forest | not named |
| 24 August 1999 | Natural | under an acre | Ouachita National Forest | WALTREAK |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Powder Magazine: 1 unknown. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Matt Wunee Property | Iron | Unknown |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Blue Ball, the town this property stands in, in 11 storm reports between 1994 and 2019: 6 hail, 4 thunderstorm wind, 1 flash flood. The reports record 1 death. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 2010 | Flash Flood | Blue Ball | 1 killed, $20,000 | A 63 year-old man drowned during a flash flood near Union Hill. He tried to drive his pickup truck across a small low-water bridge, but the truck was swept into the creek. Witnesses said the man tried to escape through the driver's window, but he was caught by the current and dragged downstream. |
| September 2013 | Thunderstorm Wind | Blue Ball | $5,000 | Large trees were blown down. |
| July 1994 | Hail | Blue Ball | $500 | Thunderstorm winds knocked down some large tree limbs. |
| July 1994 | Thunderstorm Wind | Blue Ball | $500 | Thunderstorm winds knocked down some large tree limbs. |
| August 2019 | Thunderstorm Wind | Blue Ball | - | Trees were blown down in Blue Ball. The time was estimated from radar. |
| November 1995 | Thunderstorm Wind | Blue Ball | - | A large tree was blown down onto a house. |
| May 2008 | Hail | Blue Ball | - | no account filed |
| March 2008 | Hail | Blue Ball | - | no account filed |
| November 2003 | Hail | Blue Ball | - | no account filed |
| May 1998 | Hail | Blue Ball | - | no account filed |
| March 1996 | Hail | Blue Ball | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 93001096 in Record Group 79. |
| Wikipedia article | Community-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA. |
| Scott County | All 14 listed properties in this county. |