From the record
One of 15 National Register listings published here for Prairie County · listed in 1995 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1995.
One of 15 National Register listings published here for Prairie County · listed in 1995 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 5 fires within 5 miles of Prairie County Courthouse between 2000 and 2019, burning about 58 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 3 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 16 September 2000 | Smoking | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 23 June 2005 | Debris and open burning | 4.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 February 2007 | Debris and open burning | 40 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 December 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 17 October 2015 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | De Valls Bluff Waterworks | under 500 feet | 2007 |
![]() | St. Elizabeth's Catholic Church | 0.2 miles | 2009 |
![]() | Castleberry Hotel | 0.4 miles | 2007 |
![]() | Rock Island Depot | 6.6 miles | 1987 |
![]() | Kocourek and Son Hardware | 6.7 miles | 2015 |
| Wingmead | 7.7 miles | 2011 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 95000457 in Record Group 79. |
| Wikipedia article | Community-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA. |
| Prairie County | All 15 listed properties in this county. |