BlockBefore

Oark School-Methodist Church

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1995.

From the record

“The Oark School - Methodist Church is a historic church at the junction of Arkansas Highway 215 and County Road 34 in Oark, Arkansas. It is a rectangular single-story wood-frame structure, with a gabled roof, novelty siding, and a fieldstone foundation.”

Wikipedia article Oark School-Methodist Church, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 35 National Register listings published here for Johnson County · listed in 1995 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Oark School--Methodist Church - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Jct. of AR 215 and Co. Rd. 34, Oark, 72852
  • When was it listed? September 1995
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Public Schools in the Ozarks MPS
  • Township. Batson township
  • National Register reference number. 95001142 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

36 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 36 fires within 5 miles of Oark School-Methodist Church between 1992 and 2020, burning about 374 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 9 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined11
Debris and open burning10
Arson/incendiarism9
Power generation/transmission/distribution2
Fireworks1
Natural1
Equipment and vehicle use1
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
19 September 2004Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
3 June 2005Debris and open burning5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 June 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
22 May 1997Arson/incendiarismunder an acreOzark-St. Francis National ForestsSINCLAIR #3
1 May 2014Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry CommissionJOH1765984
7 April 2006Debris and open burning6.2 acresOzark-St. Francis National ForestsYALE
4 April 2006Arson/incendiarism40 acresOzark-St. Francis National ForestsWATERFALL
20 April 1997Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreOzark-St. Francis National ForestsMILE 68

Every fire recorded in Johnson County

Storms near this property

30 since 1993

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Oark, the town this property stands in, in 30 storm reports between 1993 and 2025: 13 hail, 8 flash flood, 7 thunderstorm wind, 2 flood. The reports record 1 death. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
April 1997Flash FloodOark1 killedHeavy rains caused flash flooding across parts of Johnson County. A vehicle driving across a low-water bridge was swept off the bridge by the high water. The driver of the vehicle drowned.
October 2009Flash FloodOark$2,000,000Flooding on Spadra Creek and Horsehead Creek caused roads to be flooded and culverts washed out. Numerous streets were flooded in Clarksville, as was U.S. Highway 64 around Hartman and Coal Hill. Around 9:20 PM CDT, a washout on a railroad track caused a train derailment in the Coal Hill Bottoms, south of Coal Hill. Nineteen hopper cars carrying soybeans were derailed, spilling the beans and tearing up a section of track. Mudslides occurred on Interstate 40 southwest of Hunt, on Arkansas Highway 103 in the Batson Mountain vicinity, and on a road north of Catalpa. Eight houses were flooded in the western part of the county. Cattle had to be rescued from flooding at the Dirty Creek Bridge on Arkansas Highway 164. Numerous county roads were flooded in the area west of Arkansas Highway 21. Several water rescues were necessary.
April 2011FloodOark$250,000Widespread areal flooding occurred.
May 2011FloodOark$250,000no account filed
May 2010Thunderstorm WindOark$5,000A few trees were blown down in the Oark area.
November 1993Thunderstorm WindOark$5,000Some trees were blown down.
August 2025Flash FloodOark-Water reported over the roadway in several locations along Arkansas Highway 103.
August 2025Flash FloodOark-Water was reported over the roadway in several locations along Arkansas Highway 103.
September 2025Flash FloodOark-Flood waters approached the school in the town of Oark.
September 2025Flash FloodOark-The rock wall around the outside of the school in the town of Oark was pushed over by flood waters. The flood waters then entered the gym within the school causing an unknown amount of damage.
May 2017Thunderstorm WindOark-Law Enforcement reported several trees and powerlines down throughout the western half of Johnson County.
September 2006Thunderstorm WindOark-Thunderstorm winds downed a few trees.
September 2001Thunderstorm WindOark-Trees down.
June 2012HailOark-no account filed
December 2010HailOark-no account filed
April 2008HailOark-no account filed
April 2008HailOark-no account filed
March 2008HailOark-no account filed
April 2004HailOark-no account filed
July 2003HailOark-no account filed
May 2003HailOark-no account filed
April 2000HailOark-no account filed
May 2000HailOark-no account filed
June 2000Flash FloodOark-no account filed
June 1999Flash FloodOark-no account filed
May 1999HailOark-no account filed
June 1998Thunderstorm WindOark-no account filed
May 1996Thunderstorm WindOark-no account filed
October 1993HailOark-no account filed
November 1993HailOark-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Johnson County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
N. E. Dickerson Store0.2 miles1995

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 95001142 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Johnson CountyAll 35 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.