BlockBefore
Photograph of Ft. Smith Confederate Monument
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Ft. Smith Confederate Monument

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1996.

From the record

“Smith Confederate Monument stands on the grounds of the Sebastian County Courthouse at the junction of 6th and Rogers Streets in Fort Smith, Arkansas. The statue depicts a Confederate Army soldier, standing facing north, holding the upper stock of his rifle, which is grounded.”

Wikipedia article Ft. Smith Confederate Monument, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 64 National Register listings published here for Sebastian County · listed in 1996 · category: Object.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 object as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Courthouse Lawn, near jct. of 6th St. and Rogers Ave., Ft. Smith, 72901
  • When was it listed? April 1996
  • Category. object
  • Also known as. Civil War Commemorative Sculpture MPS
  • Township. Upper township
  • National Register reference number. 96000460 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

12 since 1996

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 12 fires within 5 miles of Ft. Smith Confederate Monument between 1996 and 2020, burning about 293 acres in total. None started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism5
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2
Equipment and vehicle use2
Debris and open burning2
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
3 August 2011Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 March 2011Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 March 1996Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresOklahoma Division of Forestrynot named
15 March 2004Arson/incendiarism16 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
13 March 2001Equipment and vehicle use29 acresOklahoma Division of Forestrynot named
27 February 2006Debris and open burning130 acresCherokee Nation TribeSTATE 216
27 December 2020Arson/incendiarism65 acresOklahoma Division of Forestrynot named
27 December 2005Smoking25 acresCherokee Nation TribeSTATE 059

Every fire recorded in Sebastian County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 16 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 16 workings within 5 miles of Ft. Smith Confederate Monument: 11 past producers, 5 producers. 5 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay, Aggregate, Light Weight, Stone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Rescolite CompanyAggregate, Light WeightPast Producer
UnkStoneProducer
Unknown Sandstone PitStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Fort Smith PitClayPast Producer
Unknown Shale PitClayPast Producer
Unknown Shale PitClayPast Producer
Unknown Shale PitClayPast Producer
Unknown Shale PitClayPast Producer
Fort Smith Dredge & PlantSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
General Inn QuarrySand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Sebastian County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 96000460 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Sebastian CountyAll 64 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.