BlockBefore
Photograph of Garfield Elementary School
Photograph by Brandonrush, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Garfield Elementary School

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1996.

From the record

“The Garfield School Building is a historic school building on United States Route 62 in Garfield, Arkansas, near its junction with Arkansas Highway 127. It is a public charter elementary school of Garfield Scholars' Academy”

Wikipedia article Garfield Elementary School (Garfield, Arkansas), CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 162 National Register listings published here for Benton County · listed in 1996 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. US 62, near jct. with AR 127, Benton, 72732
  • When was it listed? June 1996
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Public Schools in the Ozarks MPS
  • Township. Township 3
  • National Register reference number. 96000693 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

94 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 94 fires within 5 miles of Garfield Elementary School between 1995 and 2020, burning about 3,174 acres in total. 10 started naturally. 42 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism42
Missing data/not specified/undetermined30
Natural10
Debris and open burning6
Equipment and vehicle use3
Power generation/transmission/distribution2
Fireworks1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
6 September 2000Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresPea Ridge National Military ParkFUELBURN
5 September 2012Naturalunder an acrePea Ridge National Military ParkKOA CAMPGROUND
4 September 2000Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acrePea Ridge National Military ParkTOURROAD
21 September 2000Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresPea Ridge National Military ParkNIGHTTIME
2 September 2016Equipment and vehicle useunder an acrePea Ridge National Military ParkFORD ROAD WF
4 August 2012Natural5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
20 August 2019Arson/incendiarismunder an acrePea Ridge National Military Park19 DODD ROAD WF
19 August 2001Debris and open burning3.0 acresMissouri Department of Conservationnot named

Every fire recorded in Benton County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Garfield Elementary School: 2 unknowns. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Silica, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Jack Holt QuarriesStone, Crushed/Broken, Silica, Sand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkStoneUnknown

Every working recorded in Benton County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 96000693 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Benton CountyAll 162 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.